Scotland Wales Northern Ireland
BBC Homepagefeedback | low graphics version

You are in: You are in: Rugby League  
Front Page 
Rugby Union 
Rugby League 
Super League 
Challenge Cup 
Ashes Series 
World Cup 2000 
Other Sports 
Sports Talk 
In Depth 
Photo Galleries 
TV & Radio 
BBC Pundits 
Question of Sport 
Funny Old Game 

Around The Uk

BBC News

BBC Weather

Tuesday, 16 October, 2001, 10:34 GMT 11:34 UK
Ashes battles of the past
Mal Meninga takes on England in the second Test in 1994
Mal Meninga led Australia to victory in the last series
BBC Sport Online takes a look back at previous Ashes battles between Great Britain and Australia.

Queens Park Rangers' football ground in west London was the unlikely setting for the first Ashes Test on 12 December, 1908.

A crowd of just 2,000 were pitchside to see the home side, playing under the banner of Northern Union or England in the early days, share the spoils in a 22-22 draw.

The number of spectators increased tenfold for the second Test in Newcastle.

  Ashes Tests
Australia 54 wins
Great Britain 53 wins
Draws 4

The home side won that one 15-5 before wrapping up the series with a narrow 6-5 success in Birmingham.

A year later, it was Australia's turn to play host.

But the change of hemisphere failed to result in a change of fortune for the team from down under. They lost each of the Tests in Sydney and Brisbane.

Australia eventually claimed their first victory in 1911, when the series returned to Newcastle.

But it was Britain who continued to hold the upper hand until the middle of the last century.

In recent years, the Kangaroos have been on top and Great Britain has not won a series for 31 years.

That 1970 tour started off badly for the British team, who lost the first Test in Brisbane.

Andy Farrell
Andy Farrell was the only GB player to score in the last Ashes Test
But in the second in Sydney, the tourists silenced the home fans with a 28-7 victory.

Hull KR's Roger Millward was the hero, his two tries and seven goals equalling the British record for points in a match.

The shock success meant the series rested on the third Test, also in Sydney, a fortnight later.

Great Britain triumphed 21-17 to register a memorable victory.

From 1978, the Australians were unstoppable, winning every single Test for 10 years.

No game epitomised their dominance more than the first Test of the 1982 series.

With players of the calibre of Peter Sterling, Wayne Pearce, Mal Meninga and current Australian coach Chris Anderson, they thrashed Britain 40-4 at Hull with a supremely athletic display.

  Ashes Test records
Highest score: 1958 - Australia 50-12 GB
Most tries in a match: Four - Jim Leytham (GB) in 1910
Most points in a match: 22 - Michael O'Connor (Aus) in 1986

The rampage continued, with the "Invincibles", who were led by Max Krilich, chalking up a whopping 99 points in three Tests.

Britain's losing run finally came to an end in 1988.

The series had already been conceded but pride was salvaged with a 26-12 win in the third Test in Sydney.

The highlight of the 1990 series was Australia's 14-0 win in the deciding third Test at Elland Road.

Great Britain also forced a decider in the 1992 series after a thrilling 33-10 win in the second Test in Melbourne, a scoreline that equalled their biggest ever margin of victory.

Internet links:

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Links to more Rugby League stories are at the foot of the page.


E-mail this story to a friend

Links to more Rugby League stories

^^ Back to top