BBC Sport rugbyleague


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 23:00 GMT, Monday, 5 October 2009 00:00 UK

Hodgson wins Man of Steel honour

Brett Hodgson and Nathan Brown
Hodgson and Brown have made a big impact on the Giants this season

Huddersfield's Brett Hodgson has been named Super League Man of Steel, while Giants boss Nathan Brown has taken the Coach of the Year accolade.

The Giants also pocketed the Club of the Year award at the prestigious Man of Steel dinner in Manchester.

Australian Hodgson beat off competition from Adrian Morley and last year's winner James Graham.

Wigan half-back Sam Tomkins edged out Kyle Eastmond and Richie Myler to win the Young Player of the Year award.

Tomkins, who was included in the 2009 Dream Team at the end of his first full season in the top flight, caught the eye with some outstanding performances as Wigan came desperately close to reaching the Grand Final.

ClintNewtonsasledgehammer ! (Aka - Fozz)...

But it was Huddersfield's night as the Challenge Cup runners-up dominated the main awards.

Brown topped a poll of his fellow Super League coaches after transforming the Giants in his first season at the club.

Huddersfield finished third from bottom of the table in 2008, but were rejuvenated as they were came third this season with Hodgson the central figure behind their improved fortunes.

Hodgson's success ends a run of four successive victories by St Helens players. He is only the fourth Australian to win the award since it was instigated in 1977.

The 31-year-old former Wests Tigers favourite, also the Rugby League Writers' Association player of the year, emulates 2005 winner Jamie Lyon by lifting the award in his first season in Super League.

In being named club of the year, Huddersfield were praised for their investment in coaching and talent development over the last 12 months which has seen local players Leroy Cudjoe and Michael Lawrence break into the first team.

Other awards:

Carnegie community player of the year - Lee Radford (Hull).

Frontline fairplay index winners - Hull.

Metre-maker - James Graham (St Helens), 4,752 metres.

Hit Man - Malcolm Alker (Salford), 981 tackles.

Mike Gregory spirit of rugby league award - Steve Prescott.

Special awards were made to:

Robbie Paul and Stanley Gene to mark the end of their Super League careers;

Paul Wellens to mark his 350th appearance for St Helens;

Warrington's Lee Briers for his 300th Super League appearance;

Hull captain Lee Radford, who passed the 300 career appearances milestone this summer.

Print Sponsor

see also
Huddersfield 16-25 Warrington
29 Aug 09 |  Rugby League

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites