BBC Sport rugbyleague

Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 07:48 GMT, Thursday, 16 October 2008 08:48 UK

Australia call up Hunt and Boyd

Karmichael Hunt and Darius Boyd
Hunt and Boyd have played together for the Broncos and Queensland

Brisbane Broncos pair Karmichael Hunt and Darius Boyd have been called into Australia's injury-hit World Cup squad.

Wests Tigers full-back Brett Stewart and Brisbane three-quarter Justin Hodges were forced to withdraw because of shoulder injuries.

Hunt, considered unlucky to miss out of the original squad, replaces Stewart.

And Boyd's call-up comes after St George Illawarra centre Matt Cooper was ruled out as a possible replacement because of an injury.

Hunt and Boyd link up the squad despite both being the subject of sexual assault allegations last month.

Queensland Police have concluded an investigation into the claims levelled at the pair and Broncos team-mate Sam Thaiday, and say it will be weeks before it is known if any charges will be pressed.


Coach Ricky Stuart was already without first-choice centre Mark Gasnier, who is now playing rugby union in France, while Anthony Tupou was recalled after Michael Crocker failed to recover from a rib injury.

Tupou had been named in Tonga's squad after the Sydney Roosters forward initially missed the cut for Australia.

The 25-year-old would have required clearance from the sport's governing body to appear for Tonga after winning six caps for Australia.

The World Cup starts in Australia on 25 October.

Holders Australia are in a group with New Zealand, England and Papua New Guinea, with three teams making it through to the semi-finals.

The final will be held in Brisbane on 22 November.

Australia: Terry Campese (Canberra), Petero Civoniceva (Penrith), Anthony Tupou (Sydney Roosters), Craig Fitzgibbon (Sydney Roosters), Israel Folau (Melbourne), Paul Gallen (Cronulla), Kurt Gidley (Newcastle), Darius Boyd (Brisbane), Greg Inglis (Melbourne), Brent Kite (Manly), Anthony Laffranchi (Gold Coast), Darren Lockyer (captain, Brisbane), Joel Mongahan (Canberra), Josh Perry (Manly), Steve Price (New Zealand Warriors), Scott Prince (Gold Coast), Billy Slater (Melbourne), Cameron Smith (Melbourne), Karmichael Hunt (Brisbane), Glenn Stewart (Manly), Brent Tate (New Zealand Warriors), Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland), Anthony Watmough (Manly), David Williams (Manly).

see also
Anderson ruled out of World Cup
14 Oct 08 |  Rugby League
Rugby League World Cup squads
14 Oct 08 |  Rugby League
World Cup team-by-team guide
13 Oct 08 |  Rugby League

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2020 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.