BBC Sport rugbyleague

Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 11:24 GMT, Friday, 29 August 2008 12:24 UK

Henderson trio in Scots cup squad

Ian Henderson will join brothers Andrew and Kevin in the squad
Ian Henderson joins brothers Andrew and Kevin in the initial squad

Three brothers have made Steve McCormack's initial Scotland squad of 40 players for the World Cup in Australia, which begins in October.

Henderson brothers Andrew, of Castleford, Wakefield centre Kevin and New Zealand Warriors hooker Ian are hoping to make the final squad of 24.

Scotland play France in Canberra on 26 October and Fiji in the Bluetongue Stadium, Central Coast, on 5 November.

Coach McCormack said: "There will be some tough decisions for the final 24."

The squad includes five other players based in Australia's National Rugby League - Keith Galloway (Wests Tigers), Michael Robertson (Manly Sea Eagles), Scott Logan (Canberra) and Chris and Nathan Armit (Canterbury Bulldogs) - and another 10 Super League players.

"Final selection is in the players' own hands by the form they show," said McCormack.

"We have a good mix of established players plus a few new names who have expressed the desire to join up with us.

"At this stage, the players need to keep playing well, keep fit and healthy."

The Scots are hoping that the ex-pat communities in their World Cup venues will turn out to support the team.

Scotland World Cup squad

Chris Armit, Nathan Armit (both Canterbury Bulldogs), Kier Bell (London Skolars), Jamie Benn (unattached), Danny Brough (Wakefield, capt), Mark Calderwood (Wigan), Paddy Coupar (Edinburgh Eagles), John Duffy (Widnes), Ben Fisher (Hull KR), Keith Galloway (Wests Tigers), Daniel Heckenberg (Harlequins), Andrew Henderson (Castleford), Kevin Henderson (Wakefield)

Ian Henderson (NZ Warriors), Graeme Horne (Hull), Jack Howieson (Sheffield), Paul Jackson (Huddersfield), Wade Liddell (Brisbane Easts), Scott Logan (Canberra Raiders), Rhys Lovegrove (Hull KR), Neil Lowe (Keighley), David Lynn (Edinburgh Eagles), Iain Marsh (Workington), David McConnell (Leigh), Duncan McGilvary (Wakefield), Dene Miller (London Skolars)

Spencer Miller (Whitehaven), Iain Morrison(Widnes), Gareth Morton (Widnes), Mick Nanyn (Oldham), Lee Paterson (Widnes), Michael Robertson (Manly), Iain Sinfield (Oldham), Jamie Smith (Fife Lions), Jonathan Steel (Hull KR), Alex Szostack (Sheffield), Andy Todd (Edinburgh Eagles), Matthew Tunstall (Workington), Tom Wild (Rochdale), Oliver Wilkes (Wakefield).

see also
Rugby League World Cup squads
29 Aug 08 |  Rugby League
Rugby League World Cup 2008
15 Nov 07 |  Rugby League
The adopted Pom's World Cup dream
25 Mar 08 |  Rugby League
England Cup spots 'up for grabs'
25 Mar 08 |  Rugby League
World Cup qualifying
29 Nov 07 |  Rugby League
Wilkin expresses World Cup fears
12 Nov 07 |  Rugby League
World Cup set for 10-team format
25 Nov 05 |  International

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2020 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.