BBC Sport rugbyleague

Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 05:38 GMT, Wednesday, 2 April 2008 06:38 UK

Nineteen target Super League spot

Rugby League

Nineteen clubs met Monday's deadline for Super League licence applications.

The Rugby Football League is looking to expand the competition from 12 to 14 teams in 2009 when they change to a franchise system.

The RFL has confirmed that the current 12 Super League clubs have all applied, as have French champions Toulouse and six National League teams.

Salford, Widnes, Celtic Crusaders, Leigh, Featherstone and Halifax are the other teams hoping to earn a place.

Each club's application will now be assessed by the RFL over the next three months.

The applicants will be expected to meet minimum standards in four basic areas - facilities, finance and business, commercial, marketing and community work, and playing strength/development - and will be given marks out of 10.


Clubs with at least five points out of 10 will be awarded category A or B status and guaranteed a place in Super League, with category C clubs at risk of losing out in 2009.

RFL staff, headed by in-house lawyer Rod Findlay, will make recommendations to the board of directors, who will make a decision on the make-up of Super League XIV in July.

"The engage Super League licensing process has already had a tremendously beneficial effect for the whole sport as clubs have undergone their own searching assessments of their organisations in order to make progress and deliver significant improvements," said RFL chief executive Nigel Wood.

Findlay added: "We thank all those clubs who have made submissions to us and even an initial overview of applications shows that all clubs have invested a great deal of time and resources in their submissions.

"The RFL will now carry out an exhaustive assessment of each application using the criteria and methods agreed by the clubs during an extensive consultation period."

The 19 applicants for a Super League licence:

Bradford Bulls
Catalans Dragons
Castleford Tigers
Celtic Crusaders
Featherstone Rovers
Halifax RLFC
Huddersfield Giants
Harlequins RL
Hull FC
Hull KR
Leeds Rhinos
Leigh Centurions
Salford City Reds
St Helens
Toulouse Olympique
Warrington Wolves
Wakefield Trinity Wildcats
Widnes Vikings
Wigan Warriors

see also
Crusaders tipped for Super League
27 Sep 07 |  Rugby League
Toulouse eye Super League talks
28 Jun 07 |  Rugby League
NZ Super League link played down
08 Apr 07 |  My Club

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.