Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
watch listen BBC Sport BBC Sport
Low graphics|Help
Last Updated: Monday, 15 May 2006, 13:32 GMT 14:32 UK
Inca wins horse of the year award
Brave Inca
Brave Inca was a gutsy winner of the Champion Hurdle
Champion Hurdle hero Brave Inca has been named winner of the first Anglo-Irish Horse of the Year Award.

Colm Murphy's horse also won the champion two-mile title at the new Anglo-Irish Jump Racing Awards.

The awards, presented in London, were organised by the British Horseracing Board and the Irish Turf Club.

Cheltenham Gold Cup winner War Of Attrition, trained in Ireland by Mouse Morris, was named the champion three-mile chaser.

Formal presentations of the season's Order of Merit also took place with John Webb, owner of overall winner and top hurdler Royal Shakespeare receiving a cheque for 250,000 from Andrea and Graham Wylie, owners of last year's inaugural winner Inglis Drever.

The top chaser prize was collected by trainer Philip Hobbs on behalf of Monkerhostin's owner Martin St Quinton.

The awards were presented by BHB chairman Martin Broughton and William Flood, senior steward of the Irish National Hunt Steeplechase committee.

BHB marketing director Chris John said: "It has been a positive step forward to jointly host the Anglo-Irish Jump Racing Awards with the Turf Club and through doing so it allows us to recognise the leading figures across the whole of National Hunt racing.

"In Brave Inca we have a worthy horse of the year. The connection between the horse and his jockey, A P McCoy, is as great an illustration of the determination of two champions as you are ever likely to see."

Award winners

Champion novice hurdler: Black Jack Ketchum
Novice chaser: Foreman
Two-mile hurdler: Brave Inca
Two-mile chaser: Newmill
Two-and-a-half mile plus hurdler: Mighty Man
Two-and-a-half-mile chaser: Hi Cloy
Three-mile chaser: War Of Attrition
British champion conditional jockey: Keith Mercer
Champion jockey: Tony McCoy
Champion trainer: Paul Nicholls
Champion owner: J P McManus
Horse of the year: Brave Inca

Brave Inca storms to Champion win
14 Mar 06 |  Horse Racing
War of Attrition completes double
26 Apr 06 |  Horse Racing

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Daily and weekly e-mails | Mobiles | Desktop Tools | News Feeds | Interactive Television | Downloads
Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

Help | Privacy & Cookies Policy | News sources | About the BBC | Contact us