Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Thursday, 13 November, 2003, 07:31 GMT
Dalakhani scoops award
Dalakhani won the Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe
Dalakhani was crowned Horse of the Year at the 2003 Cartier Racing Awards.

The Aga Khan's Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe and French Derby winner, trained by Alain de Royer Dupre, also claimed the Three-Year-Old Colt award at the London ceremony.

Alamshar, also owned by the Aga Khan and the only horse to defeat Dalakhani, was second in the colt category.

Falbrav, runner-up for the Horse of the Year award, took the Older Horse prize.

The five-year-old, trained by Luca Cumani, had a fabulous season that included Group One wins in the Juddmonte International, Coral-Eclipse, Queen Elizabeth II Stakes and Prix d'Ispahan.

Horse of the Year: Dalakhani
Older Horse: Falbrav
Three-Year-Old Colt: Dalakhani
Three-Year-Old Filly:
Russian Rhythm
Stayer: Persian Punch
Sprinter: Oasis Dream
Two-Year-Old Colt:
One Cool Cat
Two-Year-Old Filly: Attraction
Order of Merit: Lord Oaksey

Cheveley Park Stud's Russian Rhythm, who rattled up a Group One three-timer in the Sagitta 1,000 Guineas, Coronation Stakes and Vodafone Nassau Stakes, beat Six Perfections to the Three-Year-Old Filly award.

The remarkable 10-year-old Persian Punch, the most popular Flat horse in training, lifted the Stayer award.

The David Elsworth-trained gelding took his career earnings past the 1m mark this year with wins in the Goodwood Cup, Doncaster Cup, Jockey Club Cup and a Sandown Listed event.

The Sprinter award went to the John Gosden-trained Oasis Dream, thanks to wins in two Group Ones - the Darley July Cup and the Nunthorpe Stakes.

Another dual Group One winner, Aidan O'Brien's One Cool Cat, was the Two-Year-Old Colt award winner while the unbeaten Attraction, trained by Mark Johnston, collected the Two-Year-Old Filly prize.

The Daily Telegraph Order of Merit was presented to former champion amateur jockey Lord Oaksey.

He has spent almost 50 years in racing as a jockey, journalist and TV presenter and was the driving force behind the setting-up of the Injured Jockeys Fund.

Rock named Horse of the Year
13 Nov 02  |  Horse Racing

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport