BBC Sport paralympics2008ifs


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 16:57 GMT, Sunday, 7 November 2010

David Weir wins New York Marathon wheelchair race

Dave Weir
Weir is aiming for more success at the London 2012 Paralympics

Paralympic champion David Weir claimed his first New York Marathon wheelchair title after edging out Japan's Masazumi Soejima in a thilling finish.

The 31-year-old Briton surged past last year's runner-up in the final 200 metres to win in a time of one hour 37 minutes 29 seconds.

The pair had broken away from the rest of the field around the 18-mile mark.

But there was disappointment for Shelly Woods who could only finish seventh in the women's wheelchair race.

It was won by American Tatyana McFadden from compatriots Christina Ripp and Amanda McGrory.

In the men's race, defending champion Kurt Fearnley took an early lead before London Marathon winner Josh Cassidy took over but Weir was never too far away from the action.

Fearnley's challenge faded and Weir and Soejima broke away to fight it out for the win between them and it was the Briton who proved strongest in the push to the line.

Print Sponsor

see also
Weir suffers flat as Cassidy wins
25 Apr 10 |  Disability Sport
David Weir's guide to his racing chair
20 May 09 |  Disability Sport
Gold for Weir after appeal U-turn
14 Sep 08 |  Disability Sport
Weir wins London Marathon title
13 Apr 08 |  Disability Sport
A-Z of Paralympic classification
28 Aug 08 |  Disability Sport
Disability Sport on the BBC
02 Nov 09 |  Disability Sport

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites