Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
watch listen BBC Sport BBC Sport
Low graphics|Help
Last Updated: Monday, 28 November 2005, 18:24 GMT
Weir and Shuker bag sport awards
David Weir
Weir has enjoyed a successful year on the track and road
David Weir and Lucy shuker claimed the top awards at the 2005 British Wheelchair Sports Awards in Reading.

Weir, who won the 400m at the European Open Paralympic Championships, was honoured with the individual male achievement award.

Shuker, who has excelled in her first full season on the wheelchair tennis circuit, was given the female award.

The GB wheelchair rugby team earned the team prize, while wheelchair racer Shelly Woods was named best newcomer.

Elsewhere, wheelchair tennis player Janet McMorran was presented with the prestigious lifetime achievement award after a career which has included seven national and 21 international titles.

As well as enjoying success at the European Open Championships, Weir finished third in the London Marathon and won both the Great North and Great South Run events.

In her first full year on tour, Shuker began to live up to her potential by reaching two major international finals in Sardinia and Nottingham.

Woods has also enjoyed an outstanding year, finishing second in the London Marathon, setting a new British record while winning the Great North Run and also triumphing in the Great South Run.

GB wheelchair rugby team claimed the team sport award after recently defending their European Championships title with a 28-26 victory over rivals Germany in the final in Denmark.

Meanwhile, Britain's wheelchair archery squad were handed the team event award after their performance at the World Championships in Italy with individual gold medals for John Stubbs and Mel Clarke and bronze medals for Pippa Britton and Kathy Smith.

GB national bowls coach Peter Eykin was recognised for his contribution to the sport with the coach of the year award, while junior honours went to promising fencer Tom Hall-Butcher and wheelchair tennis player Anna Tarkowski.

Steve Spilka from the Great Britain Wheelchair Basketball Association was also among the winners as he was honoured for service to wheelchair sport.

Finally, BBC Sport won one of the media awards on offer for its disability sport website, interactive Wimbledon coverage and television coverage of the Paralympic World Cup and Open European Championships.

2005 winners:

Individual male achievement: David Weir (athletics/road racing)
Individual female achievement: Lucy Shuker (wheelchair tennis)
Lifetime achievement award: Janet McMorran (wheelchair tennis)
Team of the year - sport: GB wheelchair rugby team
Team of the year - event: GB archery squad
Best newcomer: Shelly Woods (athletics/road racing)
Coach of the year: Peter Eykin (bowls)
Junior boy of the year: Tom Hall-Butcher (wheelchair fencing)
Junior girl of the year: Anna Tarkowski (wheelchair tennis)
Service to wheelchair sport: Steve Spilka (wheelchair basketball)
Media coverage award: BBC Sport Interactive
Media award: Sarah Guest
Volunteer of the year award: Jeanette Jones and Alan Soldini
Lady Taverners endeavour award: Alfie Hewitt

Double award success for Norfolk
29 Nov 04 |  Disability Sport

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport