BBC Sport darts


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 23:22 GMT, Thursday, 30 December 2010

Whitlock loses to Van Der Voort in PDC last 16

PDC World Darts Championship
Venue: Alexandra Palace, London Dates: 16 December-3 January
Coverage: Live on Sky Sports, reports and results on BBC Sport website

Vincent Van Der Voort
Van Der Voort scored heavily in the second and third set

Last year's finalist Simon Whitlock of Australia suffered a shock loss to Vincent van der Voort in the last 16 of the PDC World Championship.

The pair shared the first two sets before the 180s began to flow for the Dutchman as he took the next couple before the Whitlock hit back.

But Van Der Voort took the next to book a last-eight match against Adrian Lewis, who beat Robert Thornton 4-1.

Former winner Raymond van Barneveld edged out Colin Osborne 4-3.

Van Barneveld, who won the PDC in 2007 and won the BDO world title on four occasions, missed several doubles although he finished with a 97 average.

The Dutch third seed took the opening set but then failed to hit crucial doubles with three darts to hand Middlesbrough's Osborne the second set.

The Englishman then took the next before Van Barneveld claimed the next with a 96 checkout.

A topsy-turvy fifth set was decided by Osborne's double three before Van Barneveld hit back again as the match went to a decider.

The 43-year-old Dutchman finally found his range and was on a nine-dart finish in the first leg before failing with the seventh dart.

But Van Barneveld shrugged off that small disappointment to take the next leg and what proved to be the final with a double 16.

Looking ahead to a meeting with Gary Anderson with a place in the semi-finals at stake, Van Barneveld told Sky Sports: "I'm a big fan of Gary.

"A couple of years ago he played extremely well in these Holland tournaments. He's fantastic, a big scorer. I like him.

"He's a good guy, a fantastic player. What can you do to stop him? I hope I play a lot better than tonight."

In the big shock of the day, fourth seed Whitlock, who lost to Phil Taylor in the 2010 final, took the first set with an 80-checkout after the previous three legs went with throw.

The nervy match saw many doubles missed and Whitlock failed to hit double top with three darts in the deciding leg of the second set, which Van Der Voort stole.

The Dutchman began to find his range in the next two sets before Whitlock took three successive legs to take the fifth set.

But the Australian was guilty of missing doubles in the next and he paid the price as Van Der Voort claimed the set and match.

Earlier, fifth seed Lewis, in addition to his heavy scoring which included nine maximums, produced some clinical finishing.

An 81 checkout was achieved despite the first dart bouncing out, as a treble 19 was followed by a double 12.


The match was concluded in style with a 108 finish when he somehow squeezed a treble 19 past a single 19 then completed it with a double 16.

Meanwhile, Scotsman Anderson secured his place in the quarter-finals with a 4-0 victory against Andy Smith.

The 11th seed had a three-dart average of 108 and 10 maximum 180s.

Smith, affectionately known as "The Pieman", had six maximums of his own in the match against Anderson and started well with a 121 finish in the opening set.

But his in-form opponent surged into a 3-0 lead after 12 and 13 dart finishes, before ending the contest with a checkout of 56. Anderson now faces Van Barneveld.

Seventh seed Terry Jenkins was expected to have a stern test against Mark Walsh, seeded 10, but he eased to a 4-0 win, although both the first two sets went to a deciding leg.

Walsh then missed the chance to hit a 10-dart finish but failed to land a double top and Jenkins punished him with some steady finishing as he reached the quarter-final stage for the second time.

Jenkins will meet Wes Newton in the last eight after the 15th seed beat Austrian Mensur Suljovic in the night's final match.

Print Sponsor

see also
Taylor eases into quarter-finals
29 Dec 10 |  Darts
Wade suffers shock loss at Worlds
28 Dec 10 |  Darts
Van Barneveld cruises past Hine
22 Dec 10 |  Darts
Taylor cruises into PDC last 16
27 Dec 10 |  Darts
Sports Personality 2010 - Phil Taylor
19 Dec 10 |  Sports Personality
Darts results
12 Oct 00 |  Darts

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites