BBC Sport darts


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 18:53 GMT, Thursday, 17 December 2009

Defending champion Phil Taylor eyes 15th world title


Taylor confident of winning 15th world title

Defending champion Phil Taylor is odds-on favourite to win his 15th world title at the PDC Championships, which begin at Alexandra Palace on Friday.

Taylor plays Colin Monk first up, who admitted: "Nobody wants to draw Phil, but I've got to get on with it now.

"He's only a human being and I've got to hope things go my way and he has a bit of a stinker."

World number two Raymond van Barneveld faces Warren Parry, while third-ranked James Wade plays Steve Brown.

John Part, the 2008 PDC world champion, takes on Dutch youngster Toon Greebe, while number five seed Mervyn King will play Matt Clark.

The £1m tournament will be broadcast live on Sky Sports.

The BDO world championships at Lakeside start on Saturday 2 January and are live on the BBC.

PDC preliminary round draw:

Per Laursen (Den) v Christian Perez (Phi)

Ken MacNeil (Can) v Norman Madhoo (Guy)

Jarkko Komula (Fin) v Roman Konchikov (Rus)

Haruki Muramatsu (Jap) v Krzysztof Kciuk (Pol)

Tomas Seyler (Ger) v Shi Yongsheng (Chi)

Magnus Caris (Swe) v Francisco Ruiz (Spa)

Aodhagan O'Neill (Ire) v Les Francis (SA)

Phillip Hazel (NZ) v Osmann Kijamet (Slo)

First round draw:
Numbers denote seedings

Phil Taylor (1, Eng) v Colin Monk (Eng)

Roland Scholten (32, Ned) v Steve Hine (Eng)

Robert Thornton (16, Sco) v Per Laursen/Christian Perez

Wayne Mardle (17, Eng) v Jyhan Artut (Ger)

Adrian Lewis (8, Eng) v Aodhagan O'Neill/Les Francis

Wes Newton (25, Eng) v Jarkko Komula/Roman Konchikov

Dennis Priestley (9, Eng) v Kevin McDine (Eng)

Jelle Klaasen (24, Ned) v Barrie Bates (Wal)

Mervyn King (5, Eng) v Matt Clark (Eng)

Co Stompe (28, Ned) v Steve Maish (Eng)

Alan Tabern (12, Eng) v Ken MacNeil/Norman Madhoo

Mark Dudbridge (21, Eng) v Andree Welge (Ger)

John Part (4, Can) v Toon Greebe (Ned)

Kirk Shepherd (29, Eng) v Scott Burnett (US)

Mark Walsh (13, Eng) v Mark Webster (Wal)

Peter Manley (20, England) v Andy Jenkins (Eng)

Raymond van Barneveld (2, Ned) v Warren Parry (NZ)

Tony Eccles (31, Eng) v Brendan Dolan (NI)

Kevin Painter (15, Eng) v Mensur Suljovic (Aut)

Vincent van der Voort (18, Ned) v Dylan Duo (Gib)

Ronnie Baxter (7, Eng) v Haruki Muramatsu/Krzysztof Kciuk

Jamie Caven (26, Eng) v Gary Anderson (Sco)

Colin Lloyd (10, Eng) v Magnus Caris/Francisco Ruiz

Denis Ovens (23, Eng) v Tomas Seyler/Shi Yongsheng

Terry Jenkins (6, Eng) v Paul Nicholson (Aus)

Andy Smith (27, Eng) v Darin Young (US)

Colin Osborne (11, Eng) v Simon Whitlock (Aus)

Wayne Jones (22, Eng) v Alex Roy (Eng)

James Wade (3, Eng) v Steve Brown (Eng)

Michael van Gerwen (30, Ned) v Peter Wright (Sco)

Andy Hamilton (14, Eng) v Phillip Hazel/Osmann Kijamet

Steve Beaton (19, Eng) v Carlos Rodriguez (Spa)

Print Sponsor

see also
Darts results
12 Oct 00 |  Darts
PDC World Championship results
03 Jan 09 |  Darts
Taylor thumps Barney in PDC final
04 Jan 09 |  Darts
Taylor & Barney to meet in final
03 Jan 09 |  Darts
Taylor fires world title warning
19 Dec 08 |  Darts

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.