BBC Sport darts


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 09:48 GMT, Monday, 12 October 2009 10:48 UK

Taylor completes darts grand slam

Phil Taylor
Taylor has now won the Grand Prix title nine times

Phil Taylor came from two sets down to win a ninth World Grand Prix title with a 6-3 defeat of Raymond van Barneveld.

The victory maintains Taylor's record of holding all of the PDC's major ranking titles at present, and takes his 2009 earnings beyond £500,000.

He sealed the win with a 12-dart leg, and a 105 check out which saw him create another slice of history.

"I love it," said Stoke's Taylor, who has now become the first darts player to achieve the Grand Slam.

The latest win means that the 49-year-old has now won six televised ranking titles in 2009 - the World Championship, Players Championship Finals, UK Open, Las Vegas Desert Classic, World Matchplay and World Grand Prix.

"I love the competitiveness and the players that are in the game now," added Taylor.

"I look at players coming through now and there are some cracking players out there."

Print Sponsor