BBC Sport cycling


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 09:08 GMT, Thursday, 30 September 2010 10:08 UK

Fabian Cancellara beats David Millar to time trial gold

World Road Championships
Venue: Melbourne Dates: 29 Sept - 3 Oct Coverage: Live on BBC Red Button & online on 29 Sep (0600-0750), 30 Sep (0400-0835), 2 Oct (0400-0735, 2240-0610 - 3 Oct), 3 Oct (Highlights 1300-1400)

Fabian Cancellera

Cancellera takes fourth world crown

Olympic champion Fabian Cancellara beat Britain's David Millar to clinch a record fourth time trial title at the Road World Championships.

Cancellara charged through the 45.8km circuit in 58 minutes, 9.19 seconds to beat Millar by one minute, 2.75secs.

Germany's Tony Martin was third in Australia in a time of 59mins 21secs.

Cancellara, 29, previously won the time trial at the championships in 2006 and 2007 before also triumphing in 2009 in his native Switzerland.

Prior to the race, he had shared the record for victories with Australian Michael Rogers.

The 2003, 2004 and 2005 winner was an early pacesetter he was pushed down to fifth, behind countryman Richie Porte, who missed out on the bronze medal by only seven seconds.

Cancellara, who won gold and bronze at the 2008 Beijing Olympics in the time trial and road race, had been a doubt to compete in Melbourne after pulling out of September's Tour of Spain because of fatigue.


He said he would only take part at the World Championships if he was "at 100%" of his ability and his victory in overcast, occasionally gusty conditions in the city port of Geelong - his third win in six time trials this year - vindicated his stance.

"I'm really happy to have done this a fourth time," said Cancellara, who had one nervous moment when he appeared to clip a barrier midway through his run. "It's maybe the hardest of all my wins because leading up to this I wasn't sure of my condition.

"The other guys went really well but I just tried to do what I can. I think today I employed the perfect tactic.

"People always think Cancellara is always going to win but that is not always true.

"I had to find another motivation, the motivation was to make history and that is what helped me stay focused. Even if a rider is always winning, he can still have bad days.

"I want to enjoy this. Tomorrow morning when I wake up, then it's another day."

The performance by 33-year-old Millar continued Britain's positive start to the World Championships after Emma Pooley became the first British woman to win gold in the time trial 24 hours earlier.

Fourth world time-trial title 'amazing' - Cancellera

Millar, who secured the silver medal in 2001 and won the 2003 title only to be stripped of it after admitting to doping, was fastest out of the blocks, leading the field over the first two time checks, but could not match Cancellara when he hit his stride.

"Congratulations to Fabian, there is no doubt that he is a phenomenon," stated the Scot. "I came here to get on the podium and I achieved it.

"I am very happy with my ride. My power was good, but I need to be faster and corner faster to beat Fabian."

Martin, who was third in last year's World Championships, was one of seven riders in the race from United States-based ProTour team HTC Columbia and was attempting to win his fifth time trial of the year after victories in the Tour of California, the Tour de Suisse, the Eneco Tour and the German championship.

He started out as Cancellara's biggest challenger, but lost valuable time waiting for a change of tyre after puncturing his front wheel during the race.

"It is hard to keep your motivation when you have a flat tyre because you know that it can be over but I saw Gustav Larsson still ahead of me and still continued to fight," added Martin.

US rider David Zabriskie, who was second in 2006 and third in 2008, finished eighth and Swede Larsson, who won time trials in the Giro d'Italia, Vuelta a Madrid, Tour du Limousin and Swedish national championship, was 10th.

World Championships time trial result:

1. Fabian Cancellara (Swi) 58:09.19"
2. David Millar (GB) +1:02.75"
3. Tony Martin (Ger) +1:12.49"
4. Richie Porte (Aus) +1:19.00"
5. Michael Rogers (Aus) +2:24.94"
6. Koos Moerenhout (Ned) +2:40.69"
7. Luis Leon Sanchez (Spa) +2:44.23"
8. David Zabriskie (US) +2:51.41"
9. Maciej Bodnar (Pol) +3:00.70"
10. Gustav Larsson (Swe) +3:01.02"
11. Bert Grabsch (Ger) +3:06.14"
12. Ignatas Konovalovas (Lit) +3:07.46"
13. Vladimir Gusev (Rus) +3:27.28"
14. Carlos Oyarzun (Chi) +3:30.54"
15. Nicolas Vogondy (Fra) +3:38.85"
16. Andriy Grivko (Ukr) +3:40.70"
17. Jose Ivan Gutierrez (Spa) +3:42.56"
18. Alex Rasmussen (Den) +3:45.07"
19. Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) +3:59.84"
20. Janez Brajkovic (Slo) +4:03.97"
21. Artem Ovechkin (Rus) +4:06.89"
22. Dmitriy Fofonov (Kaz) +4:11.23"
23. Jack Bauer (NZ) +4:17.78"
24. Tejay Van Garderen (US) +4:40.89"
25. David McCann (GB) +4:52.60"
26. Svein Tuft (Can) +4:55.15"
27. Martin Velits (Slo) +5:00.00"
28. Raivis Belohvosciks (Lat) +5:15.15"
29. Matias Medici (Arg) +5:17.55"
30. Kanstantsin Siutsou (Bel) +5:23.48"

Print Sponsor

see also
Pooley wins world time trial gold
29 Sep 10 |  Cycling
Cancellara raises fitness doubts
17 Sep 10 |  Cycling
Cancellara clinches Flanders win
04 Apr 10 |  Cycling
Cancellara targets cycling history
25 Sep 09 |  Cycling
Cancellara seals time trial glory
13 Aug 08 |  Cycling

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2018 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.