BBC Sport cycling


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 16:48 GMT, Thursday, 26 August 2010 17:48 UK

Commonwealth Games 2010: Storey named in England team


Storey targets London 2012 Games double

Multiple Paralympic gold medallist Sarah Storey has been named in England's 20-strong cycling team for the 2010 Commonwealth Games in Delhi.

The 32-year-old will become only the second Paralympian to represent England in an able-bodied competition alongside archer Danielle Brown.

Olympic champions Victoria Pendleton and Chris Hoy miss the Games, focusing on November's European Championships.

But Beijing time trial silver medallist Emma Pooley is named in the squad.

The male squad includes former junior world champions David Daniell and Peter Mitchell, while the women's team boasts three-time junior world championship medallist Laura Trott.

Head Coach Shane Sutton said: "We have selected a young track team for the Commonwealth Games to give England's rising cycling stars an opportunity to experience a large scale multi-event competition as they're preparing for their first Olympics.

"With a number of our top performers competing on the road, we are also in contention for medals in these events."

Storey made her name as a swimmer, winning five Paralympic titles before switching to cycling in 2005, added two further gold medals to her haul at the 2008 Games in Beijing.

She picked up two gold medals at the 2010 UCI World Paracycling Road Championships in Canada last week, taking her tally to 14 world titles in swimming and cycling.

The International Cycling Union's decision to use the European Championships as a qualifier for the 2012 Olympics meant GB's top riders were forced to reassess their priorities.

The Commonwealth Games begin on 3 October and conclude 11 days later.

England cycling team for the Commonwealth Games:

Men's track team: George Atkins, David Daniell, Pete Mitchell, Erick Rowsell, Ben Swift, Simon Yates

Women's track team: Anna Blyth, Katie Colclough, Lucy Martin, Sarah Storey, Laura Trott

Men's road team: Russell Downing, Alex Dowsett, Chris Froome, Jeremy Hunt, Ian Stannard, Ben Swift

Women's road team: Lizzie Armitstead, Katie Colclough, Sharon Laws, Lucy Martin, Emma Pooley, Emma Trott

Print Sponsor

Latest comment and analysis

Abhinav Bindra Bindra targets home success
Indian Olympic hero shooter aims to triumph in Delhi

England players in Argentina Upbeat England chase medal glory
England women head to Delhi as one of hockey's top teams

A mosquito Dengue worry for Delhi
India hit by illness ahead of Games

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.