BBC Sport cycling


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 16:51 GMT, Tuesday, 17 August 2010 17:51 UK

Tour of Britain confirm Team HTC-Columbia

Mark Renshaw
Mark Renshaw is likely to ride for Team HTC-Columbia

Tour of Britain organisers have confirmed 2009's overall winners, Team HTC-Columbia, will feature this year.

Norwegian Edvald Boasson Hagen took top spot 12 months ago for the team that, until now, had made no official statement about competing in 2010.

The race's communications officer Peter Hodges revealed the news to BBC Essex saying: "We're delighted. We've got 17 of the world's biggest teams.

"And we've got some fantastic riders and British Olympians."

Some of those riders include Bradley Wiggins, Geraint Thomas and Ed Clancy, who all won team pursuit gold medals at Beijing in 2008.

HTC-Columbia have yet to release their provisional squad although it is believed multiple Tour de France stage winner Mark Cavendish will not compete.

Australian Mark Renshaw, who was disqualified from this year's Tour de France for butting an opponent, is expected to feature for the US-based team.

The Tour of Britain takes place between 11 and 18 September.

Print Sponsor

see also
Green study into Tour of Britain
17 Aug 10 |  Nature
Renshaw signs HTC-Columbia deal
11 Aug 10 |  Cycling
Cavendish team-mate disqualified
15 Jul 10 |  Cycling
Cavendish takes controversial win
15 Jul 10 |  Cycling
Tour of Britain makes Essex debut
21 Apr 10 |  Things to do

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.