BBC Sport cycling


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 18:12 GMT, Saturday, 15 May 2010 19:12 UK

Millar moves into third in Giro d'Italia

David Millar
Millar in action in Giro team time-trial

British cyclist David Millar grabbed third in the Giro d'Italia overall standings as he moved up four places after a superb seventh stage display.

The Scot came 11th in the gruelling 222 km stage from Carrara to Montalcino, but gained time on some of his rivals.

Australia's Cadel Evans won the stage and moved into second overall, behind Alexandre Vinokourov of Kazakhstan.

Millar, one minute 29 seconds behind Vinokourov, hopes to become the first Briton to lead all three grand tours.

The Scot wore the Tour de France yellow jersey in 2000 and the Vuelta a Espana's gold jersey in 2001.

Overnight leader Vincenzo Nibali, and second placed Ivan Basso, dropped to fifth and eighth overall after a crash just over 30 km from the end.

Sunday's mountainous eighth stage is likely to further shake up the overall standings.

In last year's Tour de France, Millar finished 85th, over two hours behind the winner Alberto Contador.

Meanwhile Team Sky rider Ben Swift claimed victory on the second stage of the Tour de Picardie to take the lead in the overall standings, ahead of Sunday's final stage.

The 22-year-old Swift, who just lost out to Kenny van Hummel on stage one, took first place on the 186-kilometre stage between Friville-Escarbotin-Belloy to Cires-les-Mello in northern France to give the Briton a 10-second overall lead.

Russell Downing finished third for Team Sky, with Astana's Allan Davis second.

Giro d'Italia overall standings:

1. Alexandre Vinokourov (Kazakhstan/Astana) 24hrs 9mins 42secs

2. Cadel Evans (Australia / BMC Racing) +1:12"

3. David Millar (Britain / Garmin) +1:29"

4. Vladimir Karpets (Russia / Katusha) +1:30"

5. Vincenzo Nibali (Italy / Liquigas) +1:33"

6. Marco Pinotti (Italy / HTC - Columbia) +1:40"

7. Linus Gerdemann (Germany / Milram) +1:48"

8. Ivan Basso (Italy / Liquigas) +1:51"

9. Thomas Rohregger (Austria / Milram) +1:54"

10. Richie Porte (Australia / Saxo Bank) +2:00"

26. Bradley Wiggins (Britain / Team Sky) +8:39"

Print Sponsor

see also
Millar drops back as Sky impress
12 May 10 |  Cycling
Wiggins loses time in Giro crash
10 May 10 |  Cycling
GB & Team Sky set-ups face review
10 May 10 |  Cycling
Wiggins loses Giro d'Italia lead
09 May 10 |  Cycling
Wiggins wins Giro opening stage
08 May 10 |  Cycling
Cycling rocked by new dope probe
03 May 10 |  Cycling
Astana's Vinokourov wins in Liege
25 Apr 10 |  Cycling
Wiggins targets Giro opening week
07 May 10 |  Cycling

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

BBC navigation

BBC © 2013 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.