BBC Sport cycling


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 13:12 GMT, Tuesday, 30 March 2010 14:12 UK

Team Sky named among Tour de France teams for 2010


BBC Sport went behind the scenes with Team Sky at the recent Tour of Andalucia

Team Sky have received an invitation to compete in this year's Tour de France which begins on 3 July in Rotterdam.

The British-based team was put together in 2009, with the aim of winning the world famous race within five years.

Triple Olympic champion Bradley Wiggins is likely to spearhead their challenge as he looks to improve on his fourth-placed finish in 2009.

A total of 22 teams will take part - 16 ProTour outfits and six, including Sky, with special wildcard invitations.

Lance Armstrong's RadioShack and world champion Cadel Evans's BMC Racing have also secured invitations to the 97th Tour.

Organisers left out the Dutch outfit Vacansoleil, the team of France's Brice Feillu, who won a mountain stage in Arcalis in last year's edition. France's Saur Sojasun were also left out.

Team principal Dave Brailsford was delighted that Team Sky had been included in the race.

"A place in the Tour has been a dream for so many of us for so long - now it's a reality. I'd like to thank [Tour organisers] the ASO for showing their confidence in Team Sky," he said.

"We will do everything we can to help create an exciting race with a group of highly talented and motivated riders who race to win.


"We are a rider-centred team and the riders must take the credit for getting us selected for this year's Tour de France through their fantastic early season performances.

"They are a fantastic bunch of guys and I know they will arrive in Rotterdam ready to give it their very best."

Wiggins added: "As a team we are thrilled that we're going to compete in the biggest bike race in the world.

"I'm hugely proud to be in a British-based team taking on the Tour de France and I'm convinced we'll leave our mark."

ProTour teams: AG2R-La Mondiale, Astana, BBox Bouygues Telecom, Caisse d'Epargne, Cofidis, Euskaltel, Française des Jeux, Footon-Servetto, HTC-Columbia, Lampre-Farnese, Liquigas-Doimo, Milram, Omega Pharma-Lotto, Quick Step, Rabobank, Saxo Bank.

Special Invite teams: RadioShack, Sky, Katusha, Garmin, Cervelo, BMC.

Print Sponsor

see also
Team Sky aiming high
18 Jan 10 |  Cycling
Wiggins eyes Team Sky Tour win
04 Jan 10 |  Cycling
Team Sky announce Wiggins capture
10 Dec 09 |  Cycling
New GB team to aim for Tour win
26 Feb 09 |  Cycling

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites