BBC Sport cycling


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 16:08 GMT, Monday, 25 May 2009 17:08 UK

Sastre up to third after Giro win

Carlos Sastre
Sastre left it late before grabbing his first stage win of the 2009 Giro

Spain's Carlos Sastre staged a stunning late charge to win the 16th stage of the Giro d'Italia on Monday.

Russian Denis Menchov finished second to stay top of the overall standings after the 237km leg from Pergola to Monte Petrano in the Appenines.

Cervelo's Sastre, the 2008 Tour de France winner, reeled in Ukrainian Yaroslav Popovych as he faded on the final climb of a tough stage.

He won in seven hours 11 minutes and 54 seconds to move up from fifth to third.

Popovych had looked set to triumph when he left fellow escapees Damiano Cunego and Gabriele Bosisio of Italy behind on the last descent.

But Sastre, 34, took advantage as he ran out of steam in 37C temperatures to claim a superb win - his first-ever in the Giro.

He said: "Today was important. We've got some important stages in front of us. This was one of the hardest of the Giro but I'm here to give my all. I'm here to fight to try and win."


Rabobank's Menchov outsprinted Italian duo Danilo Di Luca and Ivan Basso to clinch second.

The final 10.4km climb put paid to American Levi Leipheimer's hopes of sealing a win.

Despite help from his Astana team-mate, seven-time Tour de France champion Lance Armstrong, Leipheimer finished almost three minutes behind Sastre to drop from third to sixth overall.

Armstrong came home in 10th, directly in front of Leipheimer, and climbed from 13th to 12th overall, 11:06 behind Menchov.

With five days of racing to go, Menchov continues to lead by 39 seconds from Di Luca, with Sastre two minutes 19 seconds adrift.

After a rest day on Tuesday, the Giro resumes on Wednesday with another uphill finish in a short 83km stage from Chieti to Blockhaus.

Stage 16 results (Monday):

1. Carlos Sastre (Spa/Cervelo) 7hrs 11mins 54secs
2. Denis Menchov (Rus/Rabobank) +25
3. Danilo Di Luca (Ita/Team LPR) +26
4. Ivan Basso (Ita/Liquigas) +29
5. Stefano Garzelli (Ita/Acqua & Sapone) +1:19
6. Francesco Masciarelli (Ita/Acqua & Sapone) +1:21
7. Franco Pellizotti (Ita/Liquigas)
8. Tadej Valjavec (Slo/AG2R) +2:11

Overall standings:

1. Denis Menchov (Rus/Rabobank) 70hrs 06mins 30secs
2. Danilo Di Luca (Ita/Team LPR ) +39
3. Carlos Sastre (Spa/Cervelo ) +2:19
4. Franco Pellizotti (Ita/Liquigas ) +3:095.
5. Ivan Basso (Ita/Liquigas ) +3:19
6. Levi Leipheimer (US/Astana ) +3:21
7. Michael Rogers (Aus/Columbia ) +5:54

12. Lance Armstrong (US/Astana) +11:06

Print Sponsor

see also
Bertagnolli earns Giro stage win
24 May 09 |  Cycling
Gerrans climbs to Giro stage win
23 May 09 |  Cycling
Team pulls Cavendish out of Giro
22 May 09 |  Cycling
Cavendish takes third Giro stage
22 May 09 |  Cycling
Speedy Menchov steals Giro lead
21 May 09 |  Cycling
Di Luca extends overall Giro lead
19 May 09 |  Cycling
Protest overshadows Cavendish win
17 May 09 |  Cycling
Horrillo out of coma after crash
17 May 09 |  Cycling
Hagen sprints to Giro stage win
15 May 09 |  Cycling
Scarponi takes Giro stage victory
14 May 09 |  Cycling
Menchov powers to Giro stage win
13 May 09 |  Cycling
Di Luca takes Giro fourth stage
12 May 09 |  Cycling
Petacchi grabs overall Giro lead
11 May 09 |  Cycling
Cavendish keeps overall Giro lead
10 May 09 |  Cycling
Cavendish nabs historic Giro lead
09 May 09 |  Cycling

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.