BBC Sport cycling

Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 22:46 GMT, Friday, 31 October 2008
World Cup Series, Manchester

Dates: 31 October - 2 November Coverage: Live on the BBC Red Button, BBC Two, the BBC Sport website and BBC Radio 5 Live.

Cannot play media. Sorry, this media is not available in your territory.

Pendleton powers to sprint gold

By Chris Bevan

Great Britain's track cyclists claimed five gold medals in a sparkling display on day one of the World Cup Classics series at the Manchester Velodrome.

A dominant Victoria Pendleton won the women's sprint, while Wendy Houvenaghel stormed home in the individual pursuit.

Lizzie Armitstead, Lucy Martin and Katie Colclough made a clean sweep of the medals in the women's points race.

Ed Clancy powered to victory in the men's individual pursuit and teenager David Daniell took the 1km time trial.

Jason Kenny was inches away from claiming Britain's sixth gold in the keirin but had to settle for silver behind France's Francois Pervis.

BBC Sport's Martin Gough

And double Olympic gold medallist Bradley Wiggins could only finish seventh in the men's 15km scratch race, with compatriot Luke Rowe fourth.

Wiggins was in contention for silver behind eventual winner Wim Stroetinga of the Netherlands but seemed to be saving his strength for Sunday's madison, where he will partner Geraint Thomas.

It was still an impressive showing by Britain's riders, many of whom were returning to the track for the first time since their heroics in Beijing.

The Track Cycling World Cup Classics act as qualifying rounds for the annual World Championships, which in 2009 take place in Pruskow, Poland.

Alongside a GB squad there were British riders competing in the colours of trade teams 100% ME, Sky+ HD and Plowman Craven.

Cannot play media. Sorry, this media is not available in your territory.

Houvenagel storms to individual pursuit gold

Houvenaghel took Britain's first gold medal of the night in the women's 3,000m individual pursuit.

The 33-year-old, who is from Northern Ireland but based in Cornwall, made short work of Canada's Tara Whitton in the final, almost catching her rival as she triumphed in 3 min 30.59 secs.

Sutton teenager Joanna Rowsell, 19, riding for 100% ME, beat Germany's Charlotte Becker in the bronze medal race in a time of 3 min 41.88 secs.

And Olympic champion Pendleton, who is also chasing victory in the women's 1km time trial and the keirin this weekend, looked in imperious form in her sprint races.

The Bedfordshire star, racing for Sky+ HD, left compatriot Anna Blythe in her wake in her semi-final and was also far too strong for China's Lulu Zheng in the final.

Blythe, 20, had to settle for fourth after being beaten by Lyubov Shulika of Ukraine in the bronze medal race.

Ed Clancy
Clancy also goes for gold in the men's team pursuit race on Saturday
But more home success followed in the women's points race where 100% ME rider Armitstead led Martin and Colclough home.

Armitstead, 19, dominated from start to finish and triumphed with 39 points, well ahead of Martin, who was in GB colours, and 100% ME team-mate Colclough, who both managed 25 points.

All three are still juniors, although Armitstead rode as a senior in the recent road World Championships.

Kenny was also heavily tipped to triumph in the keirin but left himself too much to do on the final bend.

The Bolton rider was catching Pervis at the line but replays showed he finished just behind the Frenchman, who won in a time of 10.68 secs.

Clancy's victory in the 4,000m individual pursuit, however, was never in doubt as he destroyed Ukraine's Vitaliy Shchedov in the final.

And 18-year-old Daniell ensured the night ended on a high by posting a personal best of 1 min 01.9 secs to snatch victory in the 1km time trial.

The event continues on Saturday when events include the men's team pursuit and the women's team sprint.

British teams and provisional event selections:

Great Britain

Steven Burke - Team pursuit

Ed Clancy - Team and individual pursuit

Matt Crampton - Keirin, sprint

David Daniell - Sprint, kilometre time trial

Geraint Thomas - Madison, scratch race

Rob Hayles - Team pursuit

Chris Newton - Team pursuit, points race

Brad Wiggins - Madison, scratch race

Anna Blyth - Kilometre time trial, keirin, sprint, team sprint

Alex Greenfield - Points race, madison

Wendy Houvenaghel - Scratch race

Lucy Martin - Points race, madison

Jess Varnish - Kilometre time trial, keirin, sprint, team sprint

100% ME trade team

Mark Christian - Team pursuit, individual pursuit, madison

Andrew Fenn - Team pursuit, individual pursuit

Luke Rowe - Team pursuit, points race, madison

Erick Rowsell - Team pursuit, points race

Lizzie Armitstead - Team pursuit, scratch race, points race

Katie Colclough - Team pursuit, scratch race, points race

Jo Rowsell - Team pursuit, individual pursuit

Sky+ HD trade team

Ross Edgar - Sprint, team sprint

Jason Kenny - Keirin, sprint, team sprint

Jamie Staff - Team sprint

Victoria Pendleton - Kilometre time trial, keirin, sprint

Saturday highlights

Women's 500m time trial, Men's team pursuit, Women's scratch race, Men's sprint, Women's team sprint, Men's points race

Sunday highlights

Men's madison, Men's team sprint, Women's keirin, Women's team pursuit, Men's JKA keirin

see also
World Cup photos - day one
31 Oct 08 |  Cycling
Chris Hoy's track cycling basics
23 Apr 08 |  Get Involved

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.