BBC Sport cycling

Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 17:07 GMT, Sunday, 14 September 2008 18:07 UK

Tour of Britain win for Lequatre

Danilo di Luca, Geoffroy Lequatre, Edvald Boasson Hagen and Matthew Goss.
Lequartre (second left) lines up with (left to right) Di Luca, Hagen and Goss

France's Geoffroy Lequatre triumphed in the Tour of Britain as Alessandro Petacchi won Sunday's final stage.

Britain's Steve Cummings was second overall, five seconds behind Lequatre after finishing 21st on the 110km eighth leg from Blackpool to Liverpool.

Italian sprinter Petacchi took a third win of the Tour ahead of Kiwi Julian Dean and South African Robbie Hunter.

Matthew Goss won the points title, with Edvald Boasson Hagen top sprinter and Danilo Di Luca king of the mountains.

Lequatre said: "The week has gone really well and I think the decisive stage was when I first took the yellow jersey in Stoke.

"My team have been a massive help and have worked so hard to keep me up there so I owe a lot to them.

"It was a close finish today and there were times when I was really nervous, but I held on so I am delighted."

American Tyler Hamilton made an ambitious break within the first kilometre and quickly built up a 16-second lead.

He was soon replaced by Magnus Backstedt but both failed to put space between them and the peloton and were soon dragged back.

Dean Downing made the decisive break after 29km and was joined by Backstedt and Malcolm Elliot as they raced over two minutes ahead.

However, on approach to Liverpool the trio were pulled back with Beijing Olympic hero Bradley Wiggins making a shock move to head up the final lap but Petacchi timed his late sprint to perfection.

Petacchi, back in action after a 12-month drugs ban, said: "I have loved the race this week and it has really suited my style of riding.

"I feel proud to have won three stages because there were a lot of great riders riding and a lot of powerful sprinters, so the victories weren't easy."

Tour of Britain Stage eight results:
1 A Petacchi (Ita) LPR Brakes-Ballan, 2hrs 19mins 25secs
2 J Dean (NZ)Garmin-Chipotle, same time
3 R Hunter (SA) Barloworld, same time
4 M Goss (Aus) CSC-Saxo Bank, same time
5 R Hayles (GB) Great Britain, same time
6 C Sutton (Aus) Garmin-Chipotle, same time
7 R Hammond (GB) Columbia, same time
8 J Van Heerden (SA) MTN Energade, same time
9 R Downing (GB) Pinarello RT-Candi TV, same time
10 K Lisabeth (Bel) SKT An Post M.Donnelly, same time

Final general classification:
1 G Lequatre (Fra) AGR Agritubel, 27hr 21mins 49secs
2 S Cummings (GB) Barloworld, at 5secs
3 I Stannard (GB) Great Brtain, at 14secs
4 D Martin (Ire) Garmin-Chipotle 27h22'04" at 15secs
5 G Bosisio (Ita) LPR Brakes-Ballan, at 16secs
6 B De Schrooder (Bel) SKT An Post M.Donnelly, at 20secs
7 D Fleeman (GB) SKT An Post M.Donnelly, at 25secs
8 F Veuchelen (Bel) TSV Topsport Vlaanderen, at 29secs
9 E Berges (Fra) AGR Agritubel, at 50secs
10 R Downing (GB) Pinarello RT-Candi TV, at 1min 25secs

see also
Hagen seals Tour wins hat-trick
13 Sep 08 |  Cycling
Petacchi claims second stage win
12 Sep 08 |  Cycling
Hagen clinches back-to-back wins
11 Sep 08 |  Cycling
Berges wins stage to take yellow
09 Sep 08 |  Cycling
Petacchi claims London stage win
08 Sep 08 |  Cycling
Tour of Britain stage one photos
07 Sep 08 |  Cycling

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2020 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.