BBC Sport cycling

Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 17:19 GMT, Sunday, 27 July 2008 18:19 UK
Tour de France 2008

Carlos Sastre
Sastre was relaxed on the final stage from Etamps to Champs-Elysees

Carlos Sastre sealed his first Tour de France crown and became the third Spaniard in three years to win.

The CSC rider, 33, retained the lead he carried over from Saturday's decisive time trial and cantered to the finish among the peloton to win by 58 seconds.

Australia's Cadel Evans, runner-up in 2007, took second place again while Austria's Bernhard Kohl was third.

Belgium's Gert Steegmans won the final 143km stage from Etampes to Paris, which finished in the Champs'Elysees.

The green jersey - awarded to the best sprinter overall - went to Rabobank's Spanish rider Oscar Freire, who finished in the top 10 of eight stages.

It's very moving. I've dreamt of this since I was a child

Carlos Sastre

Gerolsteiner rider Kohl added the polka dot jersey - which signifies his status as the King of the Mountains for the 2008 Tour - to his third-place finish overall, while Sastre's team-mate Andy Schleck took the white jersey for the best young rider (under the age of 25) title.

But the day belonged to the unassuming Sastre who enjoyed the traditional relaxed final-day procession into Paris.

Though there is no official ruling, Tour de France tradition dictates that attacks from other riders which would threaten the leaders position are not made on the final stage (unless the time margin separating him is negligible).

Peter S - BBC Sport
The 33-year-old took possession of the yellow jersey when he launched a daring solo attack at the foot of the race's final mountain climb, coming over the Alpe d'Huez finish line two minutes and 15 seconds ahead of Evans.

His subsequent overall lead of 94 seconds proved decisive in Saturday's time trial as Evans - widely considered the better time-triallist and tipped to post a much quicker time than Sastre - failed to produce what was required, gaining only 29 seconds.

"It's very moving," said Sastre after the final stage. "I've dreamt of this since I was a child.

"I'm beyond words, to be here with my family is really special."

Sastre follows Oscar Pereiro in 2006 and Alberto Contador in 2007 as Tour de France winners.

Stage 21 results, Etampes to Paris (143km):

1. Gert Steegmans (Belgium/ Quick-Step) 3hr 51min 38secs
2. Gerald Ciolek (Germany/ Columbia ) same time
3. Oscar Freire (Spain/ Rabobank) "
4. Robbie McEwen (Australia/ Silence - Lotto) "
5. Thor Hushovd (Norway/ Credit Agricole) "
6. Julian Dean (New Zealand/ Garmin - Chipotle) "
7. Stefan Schumacher (Germany/ Gerolsteiner) "
8. Robert Forster (Germany/ Gerolsteiner) "
9. Leonardo Duque (Colombia/ Cofidis) "
10. Robert Hunter (South Africa/ Barloworld) "

Selected other:

134. David Millar (Britain/ Garmin - Chipotle) +34secs

Final standings:

1. Carlos Sastre (Spain/ Team CSC) 87hr 52min 52secs
2. Cadel Evans (Australia/ Silence - Lotto) +58secs
3. Bernhard Kohl (Austria/ Gerolsteiner) +1min 13secs
4. Denis Menchov (Russia/ Rabobank ) +2min 10secs
5. Christian Vande Velde (USA/ Garmin - Chipotle) +3min 05secs
6. Frank Schleck (Luxembourg/ Team CSC) +4min 28secs
7. Samuel Sanchez (Spain/ Euskaltel) +6min 25secs
8. Kim Kirchen (Luxembourg/ Columbia) +6min 55secs
9. Alejandro Valverde (Spain/ Caisse d'Epargne) +7min 12secs
10. Tadej Valjavec (Slovenia/ AG2R ) +9mins 5secs

Selected other:

68. David Millar (Britain/ Garmin - Chipotle) +1hr 59mins 39secs

Polka dot jersey (King of the Mountains) standings
1. Bernhard Kohl (Austria/ Gerolsteiner) 128 points
2. Carlos Sastre (Spain/ Team CSC Saxo Bank) 80 points
3. Frank Schleck (Luxembourg/ Team CSC Saxo Bank) 80 points

White jersey (Best youth) standings
1. Andy Schleck (Luxembourg/ CSC Saxo Bank) 88hr 4min 24secs
2. Roman Kreuziger (Czech Republic/ Liquigas) +1min 27secs
3. Vincenzo Nibali, (Italy/ Liquigas) +17min 1secs

Green jersey (Best sprinter) standings
1. Oscar Freire (Spain/ Rabobank ) 270 points
2. Thor Hushovd (Norway/ Credit Agricole) 220 points
3. Erik Zabel (Germany/ Milram) 217 points

see also
Sastre achieves childhood dream
27 Jul 08 |  Cycling
Sastre hails Team CSC team-mates
26 Jul 08 |  Cycling
Sastre set to win Tour de France
26 Jul 08 |  Cycling
Sastre takes over as Tour leader
23 Jul 08 |  Cycling
Cycling on the BBC
11 Jul 08 |  Cycling

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites