BBC Sport cycling

Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 16:58 GMT, Friday, 30 May 2008 17:58 UK

Contador clings on to Giro lead

Vasil Kiryienka
Vasil Kiryienka won the 19th stage by over four minutes

Alberto Contador's Giro d'Italia lead was cut to just four seconds after he finished more than six minutes behind the winner of the 19th stage.

The Spaniard, who led by more than a minute going into the mountain stage, will face competition from Italian Riccardo Ricco over the final two days.

Belarussian Vasil Kiryienka won Friday's stage, coming home in six hours, 37 minutes and 32 seconds.

Danilo Di Luca was second while Briton Steven Cummings claimed fourth place.

"The stage was much longer than it said in the race manual and my team worked really hard to help me defend the race lead," said Contador.

"I have to say well done to Di Luca and Ricco, they made a good attack. The Giro is going to be interesting now but I'm not scared of anybody.

"I came to the Giro with a plan and I'm not going to get obsessed about Ricco and Di Luca."

Saturday's 224 kilometres 20th stage from Rovetta to Tirano is the final mountain stage.

The three-week race ends on Sunday with a 28.5 kms individual time trial.

Stage 19 results:
Vasil Kiryienka, Belarus, Tinkoff Credit Systems, 6:37.32
Danilo Di Luca, Italy, LPR Brakes, +4:36
Alexander Efimkin, Russia, Quick Step, +4:43 behind
Steven Cummings, England, Barloworld, +5:25
Riccardo Ricco, Italy, Saunier Duval, +5:44
Emanuele Sella, Italy, CSF-Navigare, +6:21
Franco Pellizotti, Italy, Liquigas, same time
Jurgen Van Den Broeck, Belgium, Silence-Lotto, same time
Marzio Bruseghin, Italy, Lampre, same time
Denis Menchov, Russia, Rabobank, same time
Domenico Pozzovivo, Italy, CSF-Navigare, same time
Alberto Contador, Spain, Astana, same time

Overall Standings (After 19 of 21 stages):
Alberto Contador, Spain, 82:29.10
Riccardo Ricco, Italy, +4secs
Danilo Di Luca, Italy, +21
Marzio Bruseghin, Italy, +2:00
Franco Pellizotti, Italy, +2:05
Denis Menchov, Russia, +2:47
Emanuele Sella, Italy, +4:25
Jurgen van den Broeck, Belgium, +4:26
Domenico Pozzovivo, Italy, +5:25
Gilberto Simoni, Italy, +7:18

see also
Maiden Giro win for German Voigt
29 May 08 |  Cycling
Cavendish hands win to team-mate
28 May 08 |  Cycling
Sella claims solo Giro stage win
24 May 08 |  Cycling
On Tour with Thomas
20 May 08 |  Cycling
Bruseghin takes time trial stage
20 May 08 |  Cycling
Bennati secures ninth Giro stage
18 May 08 |  Cycling
Ricco sprints to second Giro win
17 May 08 |  Cycling
Bosisio break yields Giro glory
16 May 08 |  Cycling
Priamo grabs Giro stage victory
15 May 08 |  Cycling
Snapped chain ends Millar hopes
14 May 08 |  Cycling
Cavendish secures Giro stage win
13 May 08 |  Cycling
Bennati wins third Giro stage
12 May 08 |  Cycling
Ricco secures second Giro stage
11 May 08 |  Cycling
Vandevelde wins first Giro stage
10 May 08 |  Cycling

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.