BBC Sport cycling

Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 15:51 GMT, Saturday, 24 May 2008 16:51 UK

Sella claims solo Giro stage win

Emanuele Sella
Climber Sella holds the King of the Mountains jersey

Italian Emanuele Sella used his climbing expertise to pull clear of the pack and cruise to a solo victory in stage 14 of the Giro d'Italia.

Sella broke away with 34 miles left to race and finished the 121-mile stage in five hours, 37 minutes and 15 seconds.

Vasil Kiryienka was four minutes and 38 seconds adrift and was followed home by Joaquin Rodriquez in third.

Italy's Gabriele Bosisio was more than 10 minutes behind Sella but that was enough to edge into the overall lead.

The LPR Brakes rider is five seconds ahead of 2007 Tour de France champion Alberto Contador with Gabriele Visconti, the leader for the previous eight stages, dropping to tenth, 1:35 back.

The Giro continues on Sunday with another mountain stage from Arabba to Passo Fedaia that include five steep climbs.

Stage 14 results:

1. Emanuele Sella (Ita/CSF-Navigare) 5:37.14
2. Vasil Kiryienka (Bel/Tinkoff Credit Systems) @ 4:38
3. Joaquin Rodriguez Oliver (Spa/Caisse d'Epargne) @ 5:08
4. Jose Rujano Guillen (Ven/Caisse d'Epargne) @ 5:44
5. Paolo Bettini (Ita/Quick Step) @ 7:59
6. Denis Menchov (Rus/Rabobank) @ 8:48
7. Franco Pellizotti (Ita/Liquigas) @ 8:57
8. Riccardo Ricco (Ita/Saunier Duval) same time
9. Gilberto Simoni (Ita/Diquigiovanni) @ 9:01
10. Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Bel/Silence-Lotto) same time

Overall standings:

1. Gabriele Bosisio (Ita) 63 hours, 10 minutes, 47 seconds
2. Alberto Contador (Spa) @ 5 seconds
3. Marzio Bruseghin (Ita) @ 28
4. Riccardo Ricco (Ita) @ 1:02
5. Danilo Di Luca (Ita) @ 1:07
6. Andreas Kloden (Ger) @ 1:11
7. Denis Menchov (Rus) @ 1:18
8. Gilberto Simoni (Ita) @ 1:31
9. Franco Pellizotti (Ita) @ 1:32
10. Giovanni Visconti (Ita) @ 1:35

see also
On Tour with Thomas
20 May 08 |  Cycling
Bruseghin takes time trial stage
20 May 08 |  Cycling
Bennati secures ninth Giro stage
18 May 08 |  Cycling
Ricco sprints to second Giro win
17 May 08 |  Cycling
Bosisio break yields Giro glory
16 May 08 |  Cycling
Priamo grabs Giro stage victory
15 May 08 |  Cycling
Snapped chain ends Millar hopes
14 May 08 |  Cycling
Cavendish secures Giro stage win
13 May 08 |  Cycling
Bennati wins third Giro stage
12 May 08 |  Cycling
Ricco secures second Giro stage
11 May 08 |  Cycling
Vandevelde wins first Giro stage
10 May 08 |  Cycling

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.