watch listen BBC Sport BBC Sport
Page last updated at Wednesday, 12 March 2008, 16:40 GMT

Pendleton and Hoy make GB squad

Victoria Pendleton
Pendleton will be defending three world titles in Manchester

World champions Victoria Pendleton, Chris Hoy and Bradley Wiggins have all been named in Britain's team for the Track Cycling World Championships.

Britain will defend seven world titles from 2007 when the five-day competition commences in Manchester on 26 March.

Sprinters Craig McLean and Jason Queally have missed out but youngsters David Daniell and Jessica Varnish both earn surprise call-ups.

Winners of the 10 Olympic events qualify automatically for Beijing.

Britain were the dominant force in last year's World Championships in Palma and will be hoping to repeat the feat on home soil.

Not only is it the last major event before the Olympics, it's taking place on our home track where we'll have great crowd support

Dave Brailsford
British performance director

Pendleton won three golds in 2007, while Hoy and Wiggins - a three-time Olympic medallist - got two each.

"It will be a special championships for everyone in the team," said Dave Brailsford, the British team's performance director.

"Not only is it the last major event before the Beijing Olympics, it is also taking place on our home track in Manchester, where we will be able to count great crowd support."

Among other gold medal contenders are BMX world champion Shanaze Reade, who is expected to partner Pendleton in the women's team sprint.

The team will be without former points race world champion Chris Newton, who broke his collarbone in a training accident on 6 March - though he has already qualified for the Olympics.

Veteran MacLean, a member of Britain's silver medal-winning sprint team in Palma, misses out due to injury but - along with Queally - is expected to be in contention for a place on the British Olympic team when it is selected later this year.


Steve Burke (Burnley) receives his first senior world championships call-up and could be included in the men's team pursuit.

Young sprinters Daniell (Middlesbrough) and Varnish (Bromsgrove), billed as the surprise call-ups, have both excelled at junior level.

Lizzie Armitstead (Otley)
Anna Blyth (Leeds)
Steve Burke (Burnley)
Mark Cavendish (Isle of Man)
Ed Clancy (Huddersfield)
Matt Crampton (Manchester)
Kate Cullen (Edinburgh)
Steve Cummings (Wirral)
David Daniell (Middlesbrough)
Ross Edgar (Newmarket)
Rob Hayles (Portsmouth)
Wendy Houvenaghel (Cornwall)
Chris Hoy (Edinburgh)
Jason Kenny (Bolton)
Paul Manning (Birmingham/Stockport)
Vicky Pendleton (Stotfold, Herts)
Shanaze Reade (Crewe)
Rebecca Romero (High Wycombe)
Jo Rowsell (Sutton, London)
Jamie Staff (Ashford, Kent)
Geraint Thomas (Cardiff)
Jessica Varnish (Bromsgrove)
Bradley Wiggins (Maida Vale, London)

Cavendish denied California win
24 Feb 08 |  Cycling


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites