Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
watch listen BBC Sport BBC Sport
Low graphics|Help
Last Updated: Sunday, 3 September 2006, 15:29 GMT 16:29 UK
Vinokourov makes it two in a row
Vinokourov is up to fifth in the standings
Vinokourov also won stage eight
Kazak Alexander Vinokourov leapt up the Tour of Spain rankings thanks to his second successive stage win on Sunday.

The Astana rider finished 16 seconds ahead of home favourite Alejandro Valverde on stage nine from A Fonsagrada to Alto de la Cobertoria.

Vinokourov is now up to fifth in the rankings, one minute 38 seconds adrift of new race leader Valverde.

Valverde, who rides for the Caisse d'Epargne team, holds a 27-second lead over Astana's Andrey Kashechkin.

Vinokourov attacked with compatriot Kashechkin six kilometres from the summit finish at Alto de la Cobertoria before moving away alone close to the finish.

After overnight leader Janez Brajkovic was dropped, Valverde accelerated to catch and pass Kashechkin, who finished third in the stage.

"I saw I couldn't catch Vinokourov, so I went for the overall lead instead," said Valverde, to take the overall lead in the Tour of Spain for the first time in his career.

Monday is the race's first rest day. The race ends in Madrid on 17 September.

Stage nine result:

1 Alexandre Vinokourov (Kazakhstan/Astana) 5hrs 50mins 43secs
2 Alejandro Valverde (Spain/Caisse d'Epargne) at 16secs
3 Andrey Kashechkin (Kazakhstan/Astana) at 21secs
4 Carlos Sastre (Spain/CSC) at 43secs
5 Jose Angel Gomez Marchante (Spain/Saunier)
6 Danilo Di Luca (Italy/Liquigas) at same time
7 Manuel Beltran (Spain/Discovery Channel) at 1min 46secs
8 Leonardo Piepoli (Italy/Saunier) at same time
9 Samuel Sanchez (Spain/Euskaltel) at 1min 59secs
10 Stijn Devolder (Belgium/Discovery Channel) at 2mins 14secs

Selected other:

68 David Millar (GB/Saunier) at 21mins 8secs

General classification:

1 Alejandro Valverde (Spain/Caisse d'Epargne) 36hrs 41mins 31secs
2 Andrey Kashechkin (Kazakhstan/Astana) at 27secs
3 Carlos Sastre (Spain/CSC) at 44secs
4 Jose Angel Gomez Marchante (Spain/Saunier) at 56secs
5 Alexandre Vinokourov (Kazakhstan/Astana) at 1min 38secs
6 Janez Brajkovic (Slovenia/Discovery Channel) at 2mins 5secs
7 Danilo Di Luca (Italy/Liquigas) at 2mins 21secs
8 Manuel Beltran (Spain/Discovery Channel) at 2mins 28secs
9 Ruggero Marzoli (Italy/Lampre) at 3mins 59secs
10 Sylvester Szmyd (Poland/Lampre) at 5mins 18secs

Selected other:

56 David Millar (GB/Saunier) at 37mins 31secs

Vinokourov secures stage victory
02 Sep 06 |  Cycling
Valverde takes mountain-top win
01 Sep 06 |  Cycling
Hushovd charges to stage victory
31 Aug 06 |  Cycling
Ventuso sprints to surprise win
28 Aug 06 |  Cycling
Bettini snatches Spain stage win
27 Aug 06 |  Cycling
CSC's Sastre leads Tour of Spain
26 Aug 06 |  Cycling

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Daily and weekly e-mails | Mobiles | Desktop Tools | News Feeds | Interactive Television | Downloads
Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

Help | Privacy & Cookies Policy | News sources | About the BBC | Contact us