Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Saturday, 16 July, 2005, 10:00 GMT 11:00 UK
Racewatch: Le Tour stage 14

Georg Totschnig held off a late challenge from Lance Armstrong, Jan Ullrich and Ivan Basso to win the 220.5km 14th stage to Ax-3-Domaines.

Austrian Totschnig led all the way, joining a 10-man escape group at 7km before the pursuing trio closed the gap in the final 20km.

But the Gerolsteiner rider had just enough breathing space to triumph.

American Armstrong extended his overall lead after finishing 56 seconds back, while Italy's Basso was third.

1543 BST: Totschnig becomes only the second Austrian to win a stage of the Tour de France, since Max Bulla back in 1931. Armstrong finishes 56 seconds behind with Basso third.

1534 BST: Totschnig's lead is reduced to 1'13" but the Austrian looks like he is going to win after a dramatic day-long escape.

1534 BST: Ullrich is dropped from the yellow jersey group as Armstrong enters a straight one-on-one with Basso.

1521 BST: Stage leader Totschnig is still holding on at the front but is being hotly pursued by Armstrong, Basso and Ullrich, who have reduced the deficit to 3'15" with 5km to go.

1508 BST: Stage leader Totschnig is now about 9km from the finish with a lead of 4'30" over Armstrong's group of 10 riders, which has been been caught by Rasmussen's group.

1455 BST: The first 10 riders at the top of the Port de Pailheres:

1. Totschnig (GST) 20pts
2. Garzelli (LIQ) 18pts - at 52"
3. Beneteau (BTL) 16pts - at 3'15"
4. Ullrich (TMO) 14pts - at 3'50"
5. Landis (PHO) 12pts - at 3'50"
6. Armstrong (DSC) 10pts - at 3'50"
7. Leipheimer (GST) 8pts - at 3'50"
8. Basso (CSC) 7pts - at 3'50"
9. Mancebo (IBA) 6pts - at 4'30"
10. Rasmussen (RAB) 5pts - at 4'30"

1448 BST: George Totschnig claims the 20 points for first at the top of the Port de Pailheres and is 4'10" ahead of Armstrong's quintet and 5'45" ahead of Rasmussen's group.

1435 BST: With 5km left of the Port de Pailheres to climb, Totschnig is leading, 30" ahead of Garzelli, 1'40" of Beneteau, 2'55" of Garate and 3'14" of Grivko.

1434 BST: Moos is caught by the yellow jersey's group which is now: Armstrong, Ullrich, Basso, Landis and Moos.

1412 BST: Race leader Armstrong has been isolated from his team-mates and is now riding alongside Andrey Kashechkin in a five-man group that includes Jan Ullrich, Ivan Basso, Floyd Landis and Alexandre Vinokourov.

1408 BST: Garzelli, Beneteau and Totschnig now lead the stage, pulling further away from the remnants of the original escape group, which included Nardello, Moos, Garate, Grivko, Krivtsov, Gilbert and Da Cruz

1402 BST: Moos is caught By Garzelli, Beneteau and Totschnig. We don't have a time check on the remnants of the 10-man escape group at this stage.

1358 BST: Moos attacks the nine other escapees in the first kilometre of the 15.1km climb. The first to drop behind are Da Cruz and Gilbert, while Nardello is starting to struggle. Further behind, the peleton are picking up the pace with the T-Mobile team leading.

1345 BST: The 10 escapees are 10km from the base of the 'Hors Category' climb, Port de Pailheres. Among them is Garzelli, who shares his 32nd birthday with the stage and will be hoping to celebrate it with a win on Saturday.

1328 BST: The 10-man escapee group push their advantage up to 9'50" at the 153km mark.

1310 BST: The pace of the peloton picks up as three Euskaltel riders, at the head of the pack, are keen to try to reel in the escapee group, who are 9'35" ahead.

1251 BST: Nardello, Totschnig, Garzelli, Garate, Beneteau, Gilbert, Da Cruz, Grivko, Krivtsov and Moos are now in the feedzone (132.5km), having pushed their advantage over the peloton up to 9'20".

1235 BST: It is the start of Beginning Of 'Hors Category' climb, Port Pailheres, which rises for 15.1km at an average gradient of 8.1% with a distance between the Col du Paradis and the Pailhere's ascent of 60.8km.

1232 BST: Result of fourth climb for the Col du Paradis: 1. Juan Manuel Garate (SDV) 4pts
2. Georg Totschnig (GST) 3pts
3. Andriy Grivko (DOM) 2pts
4. Stefano Garzelli (LIQ) 1pt

1212: Result of the third climb for the cat-4 Col des Fourches (104km mark):
1. Juan Manuel Garate (SDV) 3pts
2. Walter Beneteau (BTL) 2pts
3. Andriy Grivko (DOM) 1pts

1202 BST: Result of the second climb for the cat-4 Col de Bedos (98.5km):
1. Juan Manuel Garate (SDV) 3pts
2. Stefano Garzelli (LIQ) 2pts
3. Walter Beneteau (BTL) 1pt

1150 BST: Result of the first climb for the cat-4 Col de Villerouge (90.5km):
1. Yuriy Krivtsov (A2R) 3pts
2. Juan Manuel Garate (SDV) 2pts
3. Andriy Grivko (DOM) 1pt

1137 BST: The 10-man escape group, who are 7'40" ahead of the peloton, are just 5km from the first climb, Col de Villerouge, which is a category four ascent is 6.3km long with an average gradient of 3.6%.

1132 BST: Result of the second intermediate sprint in Saint-Laurent-de-Cabrerisse (78km mark):
1. Carlos Da Cruz (FDJ) 6pts
2. Philippe Gilbert (FDJ) 4pts
3. Andriy Grivko (DOM) 2pts

1117 BST: The 10 escapees have opened their advantage to 4'45" over the peloton which has just past the 65.5km mark.

1052 BST: Result of the intermediate sprint in Narbonne (50km):
1. Carlos Da Cruz (FDJ) 6pts
2. Philippe Gilbert (FDJ) 4pts
3. Andriy Grivko (DOM) 2pts

1041 BST: The peloton is now three minutes 20 seconds behind the 10-man escape group at the 40km-mark. They are just 10km away from the intermediate sprint in Narbonne.

1028 BST: The 10-man escape group are now at the 31km mark and were 55 seconds ahead of the peloton at the last time check.

1021 BST: Nardello, Moos, Garate, Garzelli, Beneteau, Totschnig, Da Cruz, Gilbert, Grivko, Krivtsov are now 20 seconds ahead of the peloton.

1005 BST: A group of 15 riders attack the peloton at the 7km mark. They are: Yaroslav Popovych (DSC), Daniele Nardello (TMO), Alexandre Moos (PHO), Oscar Pereiro (PHO), Mauro Facci (FAS), Juan Manuel Garate (SDV), Stefano Garzelli (LIQ), Sylvain Chavanel (COF), Walter Beneteau (BTL), Georg Totschnig (GST), Baden Cooke (FDJ), Carlos da Cruz (FDJ), Philippe Gilbert (FDJ), Iker Camano (EUS) and Yuriy Krivtsov (A2R).

0952 BST: The 14th stage of the 92nd Tour de France gets under way with 160 riders at the sign on. The one rider who did not take the start was Gerben Lowik (RAB).

0945 BST: The temperature at the start of stage 14 is 26C in the air and 35C at road level. The sun is beating down and it's expected to get even hotter later in the day.

Stefano Garzelli Walter Beneteau Georg Totschnig



Tour de France stage 14 photos
16 Jul 05 |  Photo Galleries

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport