Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Tuesday, 24 May, 2005, 11:37 GMT 12:37 UK
Thomas retains Welsh Road crown
Geraint Thomas (courtesy of
Geraint Thomas has retained his Welsh Senior Road Race Championship crown.

The 19-year-old, who won the title last year as a junior, held off Commonwealth Games rider Will Wright and Harlech's Chris Anelay in a sprint finish.

It was Thomas' first race in Wales since he had his spleen removed after a training crash in Australia at Easter.

Youth Commonwealth Games medallist Tom Smith (CC Cardiff) won the Junior race and Norman Hughes of Deeside took the Veterans' title.

Thomas becomes the first rider to record back-to-back wins in the event since the 1960s, when Welsh Cycling president Bill Owen achieved the feat.

Many of the Wales team missed the event to compete in Ireland's FBD Insurance Rás the same weekend.

The race took place over a 130km course which ran between Llanelli, Cross Hands, Llandeilo and Carmarthen.

Result in full:

1. Geraint Thomas (Adidas/SIS)
2. Will Wright (Wills Wheels)
3. Chris Anelay (Triangle RT)
4. Dale Appleby (Fuji Bikes)
5. Neil Jones (CC Abervgavenny)
6. Mike Lindsey (Wills Wheels)
7. Richard Harris (Cwmcarn Paragon RC)
8. Ian Bendall (Bynea CC)
9. Hugo Hocknell (Climb on Bikes)
10. Richard Jones (Holyhead CC)

Welsh road race course shortened
26 Apr 05 |  Cycling
Blunden following Thomas' tracks
12 May 05 |  Cycling

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport