Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Monday, 15 September, 2003, 15:46 GMT 16:46 UK
Zabel edges out Petacchi
Eric Zabel showed his sprinting prowess
Germany's Erik Zabel outsprinted Italian Alessandro Petacchi to win the 10th stage of the Tour of Spain on Monday.

After a series of attacks on some small hills close to the finish, the peloton regrouped in the final kilometre and Zabel managed to beat Petacchi in the sprint finish by a bike length.

Italian Fabrizio Guidi finished third on the 194km stage, which was the longest of the Tour.

The win was Zabel's fourth career stage win in the Tour Of Spain but his first in this year's event.

Spain's Isidro Nozal, who finished 21st in the stage, retained his overall lead ahead of ONCE team-mate Igor Gonzalez De Galdeano.

"There was no obvious leader before the tour started and now it's me out in front," said Nozal.

"But really there are two leaders and that's great for ONCE. We are in an ideal position as we leave the Pyrenees."

Tuesday is the first of two rest days in the 21-stage event, which finishes on 28 September.

Stage 10 results:
1 Erik Zabel (Ger) Telekom, 4 hours, 10 minutes, 51 seconds
2 Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Fassa Bortolo, same time
3 Fabrizio Guidi (Ita) Bianchi, same time
4 Fred Rodriguez (US) Vini Caldirola, same time
5 Tom Boonen (Bel) Quick Step, same time
6 Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Kelme, same time
7 Angel Edo (Spa) Milaneza, same time
8 Carlos Torrent (Spa) Paternina, same time
9 Alexandre Usov (Blr) Phonak, same time
10 Oscar Pereiro (Spa) Phonak, 3 seconds behind

Overall Standings
1 Isidro Nozal (Spa) ONCE, 33 hours, 57 minutes, 41 seconds
2 Igor Gonzalez De Galdeano (Spa) ONCE, 1.48 behind
3 Manuel Beltran (Spa) US Postal Service, 2:01 behind
4 Dario Frigo (Ita) Fassa Bortolo, 3.05 behind
5 Roberto Heras (Spa) US Postal Service, 3.28 behind
6 Francisco Mancebo (Spa), 3.40 behind
7 Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Kelme, 3:57 behind
8 Aitor Gonzalez (Spa) Fassa Bartolo, 4:00 behind
9 Michael Rasmussen (Den) Rabobank, 4:04 behind
10 Unai Osa (Spa), 4:14 behind

Valverde takes stage victory
14 Sep 03  |  Cycling
Rodriguez snatches home win
13 Sep 03  |  Cycling
Rasmussen lands stage win
12 Sep 03  |  Cycling
Stage win keeps Nozal ahead
11 Sep 03  |  Cycling
Petacchi makes history
10 Sep 03  |  Cycling
Etxebarria wins Vuelta stage
09 Sep 03  |  Cycling
Petacchi claims sprint victory
08 Sep 03  |  Cycling
Perez claims victory
07 Sep 03  |  Cycling
ONCE set Vuelta pace
06 Sep 03  |  Cycling


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport