BBC SPORT Arabic Spanish Russian Chinese

BBC Sport
 You are in: Other Sports: Cycling  
Sport Front Page
Rugby Union
Rugby League
Other Sports
US Sport
Horse Racing
Special Events
Sports Talk
BBC Pundits
TV & Radio
Question of Sport
Photo Galleries
Funny Old Game
Around The UK: 
N Ireland

BBC Sport Academy
BBC News
BBC Weather

Saturday, 27 July, 2002, 13:16 GMT 14:16 UK
Racewatch: Stage 19
All the action as the top-10 riders chase Laszlo Bodrogi's mark in the individual time trial.
Stage 19: Regnie Durette to Macon - 50km

All the action as Lance Armstrong fends off Raimondas Rumsas to win the final time trial of this year's Tour.

Click refresh for updates. All times BST.

1624: Armstrong completes the gruelling course almost a minute ahead of the field in 1:03.50. The American wins the stage, taking revenge on Botero and assuring himself of a fourth straight Tour de France win.

  Best finishers
1. Lance Armstrong
2. Raimondas Rumsas
3. Laszlo Bodrogi
4. David Millar
5. Gonzalez de Galdeano

1623: Beloki has lost time to Rumsas but not quite enough to lose his second spot overall. The Spaniard's time of 1:06.01 places him sixth on the day.

1619: Rumsas posts a time of 1:04.43 to take the lead with only Beloki and Armstrong still to come.

1617: It is not Botero's day. The time trial specialist is more than a minute off Bodrogi's pace and will not now finish on the podium.

1611: Igor Gonzalez de Galdeano finishes in a time of 1:05.32 - a good time, but not as quick as Bodrogi and Millar, who still lead the stage.

1610: Mancebo finishes in 1:07.27 and looks set to keep his spot in the top 10 overall. Roberto Heras loses a bit more time and his eighth spot may be under threat.

1605: Armstrong is flying. He has made up the gap and leads Rumsas by seven seconds through 33km.

1603: Beloki is more than a minute down on Rumsas at 33km, but will keep his second place overall if he does not lose much more time to the finish.

1600: Rumsas shatters Millar's best time at the 33km stage, but Botero is losing ground and will not repeat his time trial victory of earlier in the Tour.

1559: Basso finishes in a time of 1:08.04. He will not be among the leaders in Macon but has done more than enough to keep his white jersey as the best young rider.

1553: Gonzalez de Galdeano passes the 33km check four seconds behind David Millar, who is still fastest at that stage.

1544: Excited spectators are doing Mexican waves as the riders speed by on a hot and sunny day at the stage finish in Macon. Briton David Millar set a fast time earlier in the day and is currently the second-fastest finisher.

David Millar
David Millar won a stage in this year's Tour

1539: Even Armstrong is unable to match the early efforts of Rumsas - he is 17 seconds behind at the first check.

1535: The stage is really hotting up and Rumsas smashes the best time at 10.5km. He leads Beloki by 46 seconds and is threatening the Spaniard's second place in the overall standings.

1530: Botero is fourth quickest at the first check and trails Gonzalez de Galdeano by only two seconds.

1525: Basso and Gonzalez de Galdeano are posting fast times and are the first riders to threaten the mark of Laszlo Bodrogi.

1520: Armstrong gets under way. His overall lead is not under threat - barring a disaster - but he will want to take revenge on fourth-placed Botero, who won the first time trial.

1517: Joseba Beloki is the penultimate rider to start. He needs a good ride to fend off the challenges of Botero and Rumsas.

1511: There is much at stake for Botero, who is the fourth last rider to set off. To finish on the podium in Paris he needs to beat Rumsas by a couple of minutes.

1507: Hamilton is setting fast times on the road, but no-one is matching the splits of leading duo David Millar and Laszlo Bodrogi.

1502: Francisco Mancebo is the leading rider for the iBanesto team and he starts his bid to consolidate a top-10 finish in Paris.

1453: The white jersey of Ivan Basso is on the move and only 10 riders are left to follow him at three-minute intervals.

  Best finishers - 1455
1. Lazlo Bodrogi
2. David Millar
3. Serhiy Honchar
4. Raivis Belohvosciks
5. Victor Hugo Pena

1446: Tyler Hamilton - formerly a team-mate of Armstrong - is under way. He has a good track record in time trials and may set a quick pace.

1435: Lance Armstrong has won the second time trial in each of the last three years before winning the overall title in Paris. He will be the last rider away at 1520BST and it will take an inspired ride from someone like Rumsas, Botero or Beloki to beat him.

1428: The crowd erupts as French favourite Laurent Jalabert finishes in 1:08.16. It is the last time trial he will ride in the Tour de France.

1400: David Millar was leading but has just been knocked into second place by Hungarian Laszlo Bodrogi.

Millar, riding for Cofidis, set a time of one hour five minutes four seconds, with Bodrogi slicing eight seconds off his time to take the lead.

1300: Lampre's Raivis Belohvosciks, from Latvia, is the new leader of the time trial after racing round the 50km course in 1:05.59.

1200: Spaniard Igor Flores is the first person to finish the time trial.

The Euskaltel rider recorded a time of 1:11.03 to set the target for the rest of the field.

All the actiion from the world's greatest bike race



Clickable guides

Star interviews
See also:

26 Jul 02 | Funny Old Game
Links to more Cycling stories are at the foot of the page.

E-mail this story to a friend

Links to more Cycling stories

© BBC ^^ Back to top

Sport Front Page | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League |
Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Other Sports |
Special Events | Sports Talk | BBC Pundits | TV & Radio | Question of Sport |
Photo Galleries | Funny Old Game | N Ireland | Scotland | Wales