BBC SPORT Arabic Spanish Russian Chinese

BBC Sport
 You are in: Other Sports: Cycling  
Sport Front Page
Rugby Union
Rugby League
Other Sports
US Sport
Horse Racing
Special Events
Sports Talk
BBC Pundits
TV & Radio
Question of Sport
Photo Galleries
Funny Old Game
Around The UK: 
N Ireland

BBC Sport Academy
BBC News
BBC Weather

  Sunday, 7 July, 2002, 10:38 GMT 11:38 UK
Racewatch: Tour stage one
The peloton (main pack) of the Tour de France on stage one
The peloton began the first stage at a gentle pace
Stage 1 - Sunday 7 July: Luxembourg - Luxembourg, 192.5 km

(All times BST)

1635: Lampre's Rubens Bertogliati breaks away with one kilometre to go and gets home first from Erik Zabel (Telekom) and Robbie McEwen (Lotto).

1634: The sprinters are gathering at the front including Erik Zabel and Stuart O'Grady.

1631: With three kilometres to go the peloton is back together.

1626: Another splinter group attack. Six men go clear.

1620: The four-man leading group hit the climb, the fourth category Cote de Hostert, at 12.5km as the gap to the bunch is being whittled down.

Laurent Lefevre (Jean Delatour) jumps clear of the leading group as the other three are consumed by the pack.

1616: FDJ's Sandy Casar is the main threat in the four-man breakaway. He started the day in 33rd place just 21 seconds behind the lead of Armstrong.

The other leaders are Christian Moreni (Alessio), Laurent Lefevre (Jean Delatour) and Marco Serpellini (Lampre).

1605: Marco Serpellini (Lampre) is joined by a FDJ rider, an Alessio rider and a man from Jean de la Tour.

The breakway is 48 seconds clear.

1559: Lampre's Marco Serpellini goes clear on his own and establishes a 22-second lead.

1558: Credit Agricole's Christophe Moreau is involved in another minor spill.

1554: Three of a five rider breakaway are consumed as Gianluca Bortolami (Tacconi) and Piotr Wadecki (Domo) take the bonus sprint points.

Jacky Durand (FDJ) takes the remaining two points, just off the front of the peloton.

1547: The field is back together as they approach the next sprint section at 160km.

Meanwhile, at the rear of the group, the Credit Agricole team go back on mass to nurse Tour contender Christophe Moreau, who was a victim in the earlier crash.

1544: ONCE are driving the pack along and look set to pull back Armstrong's group.

1541: The Lance Armstrong group consumes the three-man breakaway.

1535: Ludo Dierckxsens (Lampre) and Christophe Mengin (FDJ) drop Stephane Berges (AG2R) on the flanks of the Cote de Wormeldange.

Mengin goes over the top first to gain bonus points.

Back in the peloton, the ONCE team hit the front and push the pace before Rik Verbrugghe and Bradley McGee make a dash for it. Lance Armstrong (US Postal) and David Millar (Cofidis) join the group which is fast closing in on the leaders.

1524: A clash of wheels in the peloton has floored a group of about 15 riders.

1520: With 55km left to ride the trio of Ludo Dierckxsens (Lampre), Christophe Mengin (FDJ) and Stephane Berges (AG2R) lead by three minutes 33 seconds.

The CSC Tiscali team are on the front of the peloton but the chasing pack is not yet in hot pursuit.

1447: Ludo Dierckxsens (Lampre) puts in a spurt to win the maximum six points in the second sprint bonus at 117km.

Christophe Mengin (FDJ) picks up four points for second as Stephane Berges (AG2R) collects two points in third. The peloton are three minutes 25 seconds back.

1445: The CSC Tiscali team of prologue runner-up Laurent Jalabert are driving the peloton along just over four minutes behind the leading trio.

1430: Ludo Dierckxsens (Lampre) is the virtual leader after starting the stage in 74th place (33 seconds behind Armstrong). Christophe Mengin (FDJ) is next in 77th (at 34 secs) then Stephane Berges (AG2R) in 169th (at 1:04).

The trio have extended their lead to four minutes five seconds.

1410: At the summit of the fourth category Cote de Vianden at 87km, Stephane Berges' (AG2R) surge is hauled in by Christophe Mengin (, who takes the five points with Ludo Dierckxsens (Lampre) in second. Berges is third as the trio stay two minutes 57 seconds clear.

1402: The three-man breakaway of Stephane Berges (AG2R), Christophe Mengin ( and Ludo Dierckxsens (Lampre) lead by 2 minutes 58 seconds approaching the second climb.

1340: The leading trio extend their gap to over three minutes as they crest the summit of the first climb, the Cote de Hoscheid, a 4.2km rise with an average gradient of 5.9%.

Stephane Berges (AG2R) claims the 10 points with Christophe Mengin ( (7pts) second and Ludo Dierckxsens (Lampre) (5pts) third.

At the front of the chasing peloton, Patrice Halgand claims three points and Richard Virenque squeezes home for a bonus point.

1323: Ludo Dierckxsens (Lampre) and Christophe Mengin ( join Stephane Berges (AG2R) and establish a lead of 15 seconds on the peloton.

1319: Stephane Berges of the AG2R team takes the opportunity to spring an attack. Meanwhile, there is a fall involving about 10 riders.

1315: Erik Zabel, of Telekom, catches's Brad McGee on the line for the six bonus points at the first sprint at 50km.

McGee had made the first breakaway, going clear one kilometre before the sprint.

Laurent Jalabert crosses in third and is now equal in time on the road with yellow jersey Lance Armstrong.

1310: The CSC Tiscali team of Laurent Jalabert is controlling the pace at the front of the peloton as the first sprint bonus approaches. Jalabert is two seconds behind leader Lance Armstrong.

Third-place Raimondas Rumsas' Lampre team are also amassing, while sprint specialists Erik Zabel, last year's green jersey, and Robbie McEwen move forward.

1255: After 37km of racing there is still no sign of a breakaway. The first sprint bonus is at 50km.

1225: The peloton has started at a gentle pace under an overcast sky. So far after 20 km there have been no attacks.

1155: Three bonus sprints are on offer for both time bonuses for the overall and points for the green jersey classification. They are as follows: at the town of Heiderscheid (at 50km); Echternach (at 117.5km) and Remich (160km).

1153: The stage contains four moderate climbs: the category 3 Cote de Hoscheid (at 69.5km); the category 4 Cote de Vianden (at 87km); the category 3 Cote de Wormeldange (at 148.5km) and the category 4 Cote de Hostert (at 182km).

1145: The riders roll out of the start area.

1140: Just before the off, the youngest rider on Tour, 22-year-old debutant Jerome Pinot of the Bonjour team, read a riders' oath, promising a fair and honest race on behalf of the 189-strong field.

All the actiion from the world's greatest bike race



Clickable guides

Star interviews
Links to more Cycling stories are at the foot of the page.

E-mail this story to a friend

Links to more Cycling stories

© BBC ^^ Back to top

Sport Front Page | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League |
Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Other Sports |
Special Events | Sports Talk | BBC Pundits | TV & Radio | Question of Sport |
Photo Galleries | Funny Old Game | N Ireland | Scotland | Wales