Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Saturday, 24 September 2005, 08:55 GMT 09:55 UK
Swans end 72-year title drought
Sydney Swans celebrate after winning the AFL final
The Swans moved to Sydney from South Melbourne in 1982
The Sydney Swans won their first Australian Football League title since 1933 on Saturday, beating the West Coast Eagles 8.10 (58) to 7.11 (54)

The Swans, formerly South Melbourne, relocated to Sydney in 1982.

They led by 20 points at the half-time interval, but West Coast cut the margin to two going into the final quarter.

Two more goals gave the Eagles a 10-point lead before the Swans hit back through Barry Hall and Amon Buchanan to take a lead they never relinquished.

The Swans now have four titles since the foundation of the old Victorian Football League - the predecessor to the AFL - with the latest win being celebrated in both Sydney and Melbourne.

The 72-year gap between titles is the longest in AFL history.

West Coast midfielder Chris Judd won the Norm Smith Medal, awarded to the man of the match.

The game was played in front of nearly 92,000 fans at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport