Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Saturday, 25 September, 2004, 09:22 GMT 10:22 UK
Port Adelaide stun Brisbane
Port Adelaide celebrate victory in the AFL Grand Final
Port Adelaide celebrate victory
Underdogs Port Adelaide won their first Australian rules football title, beating Brisbane Lions by 40 points in the Grand Final at the MCG.

Brisbane, favourites after winning the previous three titles, were leading by a single point at half-time.

But Port Adelaide, only admitted to the AFL in 1997, stormed back to win 17.11 (113) 10.13 (73).

Gavin Wanganeen kicked four goals while Norm Smith medallist Byron Pickett and Toby Thurstans scored three apiece.

"They were as hard as hell to beat and it's as sweet as hell to beat them," said Port Adelaide coach Mark Williams.

The game was one of the most physical finals and featured several confrontations including a long punch-up between Lions full forward Alastair Lynch and Darryl Wakelin in the first quarter.

It was the first Grand Final appearance for Port Adelaide, who had crashed out in the play-offs in the last three seasons.

It was also the first time two teams from outside Melbourne, the birthplace of Australian rules football, had contested the final.

Brisbane were going for their fourth successive title, attempting to match Collingwood's feat from 1927-30.

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport