Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Friday, 19 March, 2004, 10:21 GMT
Oxford boat loses president
A victorious 2003 Oxford crew throw cox Acer Nethercott into the Thames
Sunday 28 March
1800 BST
Live coverage on BBC One
Oxford president Sam McLennan will miss the 150th University Boat Race with a stress fracture in his back.

McLennan, a member of the crew who won by the narrowest margin in race history last year, was the major absentee from the team announcement.

"The stress fracture in my back has been causing me lots of problems," said the 23-year-old McLennan.

"When it came to the moment of selection we obviously had to pick the best and I missed out."

He added: "My back is on the mend and if all goes well I hope to be rowing in Isis [the reserve boat] on the day of the race."

Acer Nethercott will cox Oxford for the second straight year, beating off competition from 2002 winning cox Peter Hackworth.

The Cambridge crew includes Wayne Pommen, who missed last year's race after fracturing his wrist in a training collision on the river the day before the event.

The 24-year-old, who has since become the Cambridge president, has given up the chance of a place in Canada's coxless pairs for this year's Olympic Games in order to take part in the Boat Race.

Cambridge's returning blues include Sebastian Mayer from the 2002 race, Hugo Mallinson and Kris Coventry, both from last year's crew.

Andrew Shannon, from Scotland, Chris Le Neve Foster, Nate Kirk and Steffen Buschbacher have all graduated from last year's winning Cambridge reserve boat.

Oxford have four returning blues - two-time Boat Race winner Basil Dixon, Henry Morris, Nethercott and David Livingston, one of two pairs of brothers who made history last year by competing in opposing crews.

Livingston's brother James has gone on to be part of the Great Britain squad and won a silver medal in the coxed four at last year's World Championships.


Cambridge: S Buschbacher, K Coventry, N Kirk, C Le Neve Foster, H Mallinson, S Mayer , W Pommen, K Richardson (cox), A Shannon.

Oxford: B Dixon, C Kennelly, D Livingston, H Morris, A Nethercott (cox), P Reed, J Scrogin, C Smith, A Stubbs.

Links to more Boat Race 2004 stories


BBC says farewell to Boat Race
23 Feb 04  |  Other Sport

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability Sport | US Sport | Other Sport | Olympics 2004

Scores & Fixtures | Have Your Say | Photo Galleries | TV/Radio Listings

Sport Relief 2004 | Fun and Games | Question of Sport | BBC Sport Plus

Northern Ireland | Scotland | Wales

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport