Scotland Wales Northern Ireland
BBC Homepage feedback | low graphics version
BBC Sport Online
You are in: Other Sports  
Front Page 
Rugby Union 
Rugby League 
Other Sports 
Sports Talk 
In Depth 
Photo Galleries 
TV & Radio 
BBC Pundits 
Question of Sport 
Funny Old Game 

Around The Uk

BBC News

BBC Weather

Friday, 16 March, 2001, 18:34 GMT
Wadecki wins first elite stage
Peter Van Petegem
Peter Van Petegem retained the overall Paris-Nice lead

Paris-Nice, 5th stage, Berre-L'Etang to St Raphael Report | Stage result | Overall standings


Poland's Piotr Wadecki won Friday's 240.3km fifth stage of the Paris-Nice race from Berre L'Etang to St Raphael.

Riding for the Domo-Farm Frites team, Wadecki clocked six hours 24 minutes 12 seconds, just pipping Italy's Matteo Tosatto, riding for Fassa Bortolo.

Frenchman Francois Simon of team Bonjour was third on the race's longest stage.

The trio led a long breakaway from 185km, building up a 13-minute lead which was whittled down to one minute at the line.

Piotr Wadecki celebrates winning the Paris-Nice 5th stage
Wadecki crosses the line in St Raphael
It was the 36th stage win for Wadecki, who has previously won in secondary events, and is competing with an elite team for the first time this season.

The 28-year-old said: "It's been a very long day. The finish was very good and I'm really happy.

"I knew Simon was an excellent rider. I decided to attack with five kilometres to go and managed to leave him behind.

"I wanted to leave Tosatto too, but only managed it at the line."

Belgium's Peter van Petegem, riding for Mercury-Viatel, retained the overall lead.

He said: "It was a very long day. One group escaped and I couldn't stay with them.

"But I am very happy to keep the jersey, although tomorrow could be tough."

Saturday's sixth stage comprises a 10km time trial from Nice to Col D'Eze.

Van Petegem leads Germany's Jorg Jaksche, Lituanian Raimondas Rumsas and Italy's Dario Frigo.

5th stage result

1 Piotr Wadecki (Pol) Domo 6hr 24min 12sec
2 Matteo Tosatto (Ita) same time
3 Francois Simon (Fra) at 36sec
4 Emmanuel Magnien (Fra) 1:10
5 Thor Hushovd (Nor) st
6 Jo Planckaert (Bel) st

Selected others:
26 Laurent Brochard (Fra) 1:10
30 Michele Bartoli (Ita) st
36 Alexander Vinokurov (Kaz) st
51 Alex Zulle (Swi) st
55 Bobby Julich (US) st
63 Peter van Petegem (Bel) st

Retired: Christophe Capelle (Fra), Cyril Saugrain (Fra), Jakob Piil (Den), David Millar (GB), Nicolas Dumont (Fra), Jonathan Vaughters (US), Massimiliano Mori (Ita), Henk Vogels (Aus), Francesco Secchiari (Ita).

Overall standings after five stages

1 Peter van Petegem (Bel) Mercury-Viatel 26hr 33min 39sec
2 Jorg Jaksche (Ger) at 11sec
3 Raimondas Rumsas (Lit) @15
4 Dario Frigo (Ita) @16
5 Andrei Tchmil (Bel) @27
6 Mario Aerts (Bel) @29
7 David Moncoutie (Fra) @29
8 Alexandre Vinokourov (Kaz) @33
9 Laurent Dufaux (Swi) @33
10 Patrice Halgand (Fra) @36

Selected others

23 Bobby Julich (USA) 1:42
28 Piotr Wadecki (Pol) 2:10
29 Alex Zulle (Swi) 2:15

Click here to return to top

Search BBC Sport Online
Advanced search options
See also:

14 Mar 01 |  Other Sports
Koerts grabs third stage
14 Mar 01 |  Other Sports
Armstrong lines up French date
Internet links:

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Links to top Other Sports stories are at the foot of the page.

Links to other Other Sports stories

^^ Back to top