Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 12:53 GMT, Saturday, 23 August 2008 13:53 UK
Guide to taekwondo

Taekwondo scoring zone

Points are earned by landing blows on the opponent.

Four judges award and deduct points by pressing buttons. At least two judges must award a point for it to register.

A blow to the torso with the hand or foot earns one point.

A kick to the neck or head earns two points.

Knocking the opponent down earns three points.

If a fighter reaches 12 points or gets seven points ahead he or she wins the match.

Points are deducted for fouls such as hitting below the belt, hitting the back and hitting behind the head.

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites