Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 15:49 GMT, Saturday, 17 July 2010 16:49 UK

Antrim 1-17 0-19 Dublin

Dublin's Tomas Bradley shields the ball from Liam Watson at Croke Park
Dublin's Tomas Bradley shields the ball from Liam Watson at Croke Park

Antrim are through to the All-Ireland SHC quarter-finals after a superb comeback victory at Croke Park.

PJ O'Connell's goal gave the Saffrons an early lead in the third phase qualifier but Dublin closed the gap to make it 1-7 to 0-10 at the break.

The Dubs took control after the restart and surged clear but Antrim fought back to score the final five points.

Shane McNaughton levelled as the game entered injury-time and Karl Stewart won it with a 20-yard free.

Saffrons keeper Chris O'Connor made an excellent save to deny Alan McCrabbe after 22 minutes.

It was level at the interval but Dublin fired over the first seven points of the second half, with McCrabbe among the scorers.

It was Antrim's first ever championship victory over Dublin.

"We've told them before every game that you have to fight to the bitter end, and that's what we did here," said Saffrons manager Dinny Cahill.

"We learnt a lot from the Carlow game when we were eight points down and managed to win it.

"There is great battling in this team and we have worked hard enough to win games."

Antrim: C O'Connell, Kieran McGourty, C Donnelly, S Delargy, P Shiels, J Campbell, C Herron, K Stewart, S McNaughton, S McCrory, N McManus, T McCann, PJ O'Connell, L Watson, K McKeegan

see also
Antrim 2-18 3-12 Carlow
02 Jul 10 |  Gaelic Games
Antrim 4-22 1-12 Down
27 Jun 10 |  Gaelic Games
Ulster SHC semi-final 'cancelled'
10 Jun 10 |  Gaelic Games
Cahill upbeat despite Antrim exit
31 May 10 |  Gaelic Games
Offaly 2-26 3-16 Antrim (aet)
30 May 10 |  Gaelic Games
McCann to make Championship debut
26 May 10 |  Gaelic Games
Watson quits Antrim hurling squad
21 May 10 |  Gaelic Games
London shock Derry in Ulster SHC
29 May 10 |  Gaelic Games
London and Armagh both earn wins
15 May 10 |  Gaelic Games
Armagh, Tyrone and Monaghan wins
08 May 10 |  Gaelic Games

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites