Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 10:24 GMT, Monday, 4 January 2010

Gerard O'Kane to captain Derry football team in 2010

Gerard O'Kane
Gerard O'Kane (left) in action against Donegal

Glenullin's Gerard O'Kane has been selected by manager Damian Cassidy as the new skipper of the Derry senior football team for the 2010 season.

O'Kane, who led Derry minors to the All-Ireland title eight years ago, takes over the captain's role from Bellaghy's Fergal Doherty.

O'Kane played well for the Oak Leafers in last year's Championship campaign.

A number of experienced campaigners will be excused from duty for the forthcoming McKenna Cup campaign.

Cassidy has drafted in over a dozen players with no senior inter-county experience for the McKenna campaign.

Newcomers include Ciaran Mullan, Mark Craig, Gavin McLaughlin, Charlie Kiet, John O'Kane, Michael Bateson, Martin Dunne, PJ McCloskey and Declan Mullan.

Andrew McCartney is another inclusion while Raymond Wilkinson and Michael McGoldrick return to the squad.

A number of experienced campaigners will be excused from McKenna Cup duty.

These include Kevin McGuckin, Barry Gillis, Barry McGoldrick, Sean Leo McGoldrick, Colin Devlin and Enda Lynn.

McGuckin and Devlin are currently recovering from injury while the McGoldrick brothers are on an extended break in Australia.

Brian Og McAlary, James Kielt, Dermot McBride and Caolan Boyle are unavailable to Cassidy as they will be in action for their universities in the competition.

Sean Marty Lockhart and Paul Murphy are notable absentees after quitting intercounty duty while Chrissy McKaigue has left Ireland to start an AFL career with the Sydney Swans.

Kevin McCloy has yet to commit to continuing his Derry career while omissions from the squad include Joe Keenan, Paul Young and Danny Mulholland.

Derry McKenna Cup squad: J Deighan, C Mullan, G McLaughlin, M McGoldrick, B McGuigan, J O'Kane, L Hinphey, N McCusker, G O'Kane, C Kielt, M Bateson, F Doherty, P Bradley, J Diver, M Dunne, PJ McCloskey, A McCartney, D Mullan, R Wilkinson, A McLaughlin, E Brown, S Cleary, P Bradley, E Bradley, K O'Neill, S Bradley, B Mullan, G McShane, M Lynch.

see also
Cassidy picks McKenna Cup squad
01 Dec 09 |  Gaelic Games
Donegal 2-13 0-18 Derry
18 Jul 09 |  Gaelic Games
We regained our honour - Cassidy
11 Jul 09 |  Gaelic Games
Derry footballers hit by injuries
13 May 09 |  Gaelic Games
Derry panel 'developing strength'
13 Apr 09 |  Gaelic Games
Derry quartet out of NFL openers
14 Jan 09 |  Gaelic Games

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.