Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 20:12 GMT, Thursday, 22 January 2009

Kielt and McKaigue in Derry squad

James Kielt
James Kielt has been attracting interest from AFL clubs

Underage stars James Kielt and Chrissy McKaigue are among nine players in line to make their Allianz National League debuts for Derry next month.

Damien Cassidy also calls up Brian Og McAlary, Dermot McBride, Barry McGuigan, Paul Young, Eoghan Brown, Sean Leo McGoldrick and Seamus Bradley.

Omissions from the 34-man squad include Joe Keenan and Michael McIver.

Conleith Gilligan has opted to take a break from the county scene while Liam Hinphey is set to travel to Australia.

Francis McEldowney also misses out because he is currently serving a suspension.

New boss Cassidy will hope that the inclusion of youngsters Kielt and McKaigue will convince them to abandon any thoughts of starting careers in the Australian Football League.

Both have been attracting interest from major AFL clubs.

McKaigue did come on as a sub in Derry's qualifier defeat against Monaghan last summer but he has yet to sample any NFL action.

While the squad does include nine newcomers, there is plenty of experience with Sean Marty Lockhart still part of the panel, almost 14 years after his league debut.

Enda Muldoon, Niall McCusker, Kevin McCloy and Mark Lynch are all included even though they look likely to miss early matches because of injury.

Muldoon is still ruled by the foot injury he sustained before Christmas while McCloy (hernia) and Lynch (shoulder) are recovering following surgery.

In addition, Niall McCusker is out of action because of a groin injury.

Fit-again Paul Carton makes his return after injury while other notables include Patsy Bradley, Joe O'Kane, Fergal Doherty, Colin Devlin and the Bradley brothers Paddy and Eoin.

The squad includes Ryan Dillon, Enda Lynn and Brian Mullan, who have been involved in previous panels, but have yet to establish themselves as regulars.

Derry NFL squad: S McGuckin (Loup), B Gillis (Magherafelt), J Deighan (Limavady), SM Lockhart (Banagher), K McGuckin (Ballinderry), B Og McAlary (Kilrea), R Dillon (Swatragh), D McBride (Ballinascreen), K McCloy (Lavey), N McCusker (Ballinderry), J O'Kane (Loup), C McKaigue (Slaughtneil), P Carton (Banagher), B McGuigan (Slaughtneil), G O'Kane (Glenullin), Patsy Bradley (Slaughtneil), F Doherty (Bellaghy), J Diver (Bellaghy), J Conway (Ballinderry), E Muldoon (Ballinderry), P Murphy (Dungiven), E Lynn (Greenlough), B Mullan (Glenullin), P Young (Loup), B McGoldrick (Coleraine), J Kielt (Kilrea), SL McGoldrick (Coleraine), E Brown (Bellaghy), E Bradley (Glenullin), S Bradley (Ballinascreen), Paddy Bradley (Glenullin), Paul Bradley (Slaughtneil), C Devlin (Ballinderry), M Lynch (Banagher)

see also
Derry 0-13 0-13 Donegal
18 Jan 09 |  Gaelic Games
Derry quartet out of NFL openers
14 Jan 09 |  Gaelic Games
Derry 0-10 0-13 UUJ
11 Jan 09 |  Gaelic Games
Fermanagh 0-10 1-7 Derry
04 Jan 09 |  Gaelic Games


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.