Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
watch listenBBC Sport BBC Sport
Low graphics|Help
Last Updated: Wednesday, 18 October 2006, 14:31 GMT 15:31 UK
McGeeney chosen as Rules captain
Tadhg Kennelly and Kieran McGeeney
Vice-captain Tadhg Kennelly with skipper Kieran McGeeney
Armagh's Kieran McGeeney has been named as captain of the Ireland International Rules side for the forthcoming test series against Australia.

The 34-year-old was left out of the panel over the past two years.

The 33-man squad which will be reduced to 27 next week also includes Armagh's Ronan Clarke and Stephen McDonnell.

Sean Cavanagh, Stephen O'Neill, Sean Marty Lockhart, Paddy Bradley, Benny Coulter, Michael Walsh and Donegal's Karl Lacey are also included.

The majority of the Irish squad travelled to Toulouse last weekend for a training session ahead of the tests.

Australia will defend the Cormac McAnallen Trophy on 28 October in Galway and on November 5 at Croke Park.

Manager Sean Boylan said that the team's training weekend in Toulouse had been very successful and that competition for places on the final panel of 27 remains intense.

He said the players involved over the last three months had invested a huge amount of time and effort in preparation for the series.

For that reason, he has decided not to name the definitive panel until after this weekend's concluding trial as he wants to give all the players a final chance to stake a claim for inclusion.

The 33-man panel is:

Aidan O Mahoney, Marc ” Sť, Kieran Donaghy, Paul Galvin, Brendan Guiney (Kerry), Tadhg Kennelly (Sydney Swans & Kerry), Kevin Reilly, Anthony Moyles, Graham Geraghty (Meath), Alan Quirke, Ger Spillane, Nicholas Murphy, Donncha O Connor (Cork), Kieran Mc Geeney, Ronan Clarke, Stephen Mc Donnell (Armagh), Tom Kelly (Laois), Colm Begley (Brisbane Lions & Laois), Sean Martin Lockhart, Paddy Bradley (Derry), Shane Ryan, Alan Brogan (Dublin), Kieran Fitzgerald, Joe Bergin (Galway), Sean Cavanagh, Stephen O'Neill (Tyrone), Brendan Coulter, Michael Walsh (Down), Paul Barden (Longford), Dermot Early (Kildare), Johnny Mc Carthy (Limerick), Karl Lacey (Donegal), and Dessie Dolan (Westmeath)

McGeeney tipped to land captaincy
13 Oct 06 |  Gaelic Games
Boylan names Rules training squad
11 Oct 06 |  Gaelic Games
McGeeney returns to Rules panel
16 Aug 06 |  Gaelic Games

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Daily and weekly e-mails | Mobiles | Desktop Tools | News Feeds | Interactive Television | Downloads
Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

Help | Privacy & Cookies Policy | News sources | About the BBC | Contact us