Scotland Wales Northern Ireland
BBC Homepage feedback | low graphics version
BBC Sport Online
You are in: Northern Ireland  
Front Page 
Rugby Union 
Rugby League 
Other Sports 
Sports Talk 
In Depth 
Photo Galleries 
TV & Radio 
BBC Pundits 
Question of Sport 
Funny Old Game 

Around The Uk

BBC News

BBC Weather

Antrim keeper Sean McGreevy on his All Star nomination
 real 14k

Tuesday, 24 October, 2000, 08:28 GMT 09:28 UK
Ulster have 14 All Star hopefuls
Sean McGreevy
Antrim keeper Sean McGreevy is an All Star nominee
Fourteen players have been nominated for places on the 2000 Eircell All Stars team.

Ulster champions Armagh have seven representatives, Derry five with one each from Fermanagh and Antrim.

Armagh will probably be a bit disappointed with their allocation - it is three less than last year when they also lifted their provincial crown.

The Orchard County ran eventual All Ireland winners Kerry so close in a marathon semi-final.

Anthony Tohill
Derry's Anthony Tohill is nominated again

Kerry have 13 players in the list of nominees.

Armagh's Benny Tierney, Kieran Hughes and Tony McEntee are omitted, but the county have managed to get three defenders on the list of potential All Stars - Ger Reid, Kieran McGeeney and Andrew McCann.

National League champions Derry also have three defenders named - Sean Marty Lockhard, Paul McFlynn and Kieran McKeever.

And their midfield inspiration Anthony Tohill has now been nominated more times than any other Ulster player.

Goalkeeper Sean McGreevy earns Antrim their first nomination since the 70s.

Shock defeat

His performance in the shock defeat of Down was one of the best seen all season.

But McGreevy could miss out as Declan O'Keeffe of Kerry is likely to make up for being left out in 1997.

John McEntee
John McEntee is an Armagh nominee

Graham Geraghty is the only nominee from Meath, underlining the decline of the 1999 champions.

Kerry's mercurial Maurice Fitzgerald is on the list and could well become the first All Star recipient who did not start in a single championship match.

Eircell All Star nominations - Goalkeeper: Sean McGreevy (Antrim), Declan O'Keeffe (Kerry), Christy Byrne (Kildare).

Defenders: Andrew McCann, Kieran McGeeney, Gerard Reid (Armagh), Sean M Lockhart, Paul McFlynn, Kieran McKeever (Derry), Peadar Andrews, Paddy Christie (Dublin), Gary Fahy, Declan Meehan, Tomás Meehan (Galway), Eamonn Fitzmaurice, Michael McCarthy, Seamus Moynihan, Tomás Ó Sé (Kerry), Ken Doyle, Anthony Rainbow, Glen Ryan (Kildare).

Midfield: John McEntee, Paul McGrane (Armagh), Anthony Tohill (Derry), Donal Daly, Darragh Ó Sé (Kerry), Willie McCreery (Kildare).

Forwards: Oisín McConville, Cathal O'Rourke (Armagh), Enda Muldoon (Derry), Colin Moran (Dublin), Rory Gallagher (Fermanagh), Paul Clancy, Michael Donnellan, Padraig Joyce, Derek Savage (Galway), John Crowley, Maurice Fitzgerald, Liam Hassett, Aodain MacGearailt, Dara Ó Cinnéide, Michael F Russell (Kerry), Padraig Brennan, Dermot Earley (Kildare), Graham Geraghty (Meath).

Search BBC Sport Online
Advanced search options
Links to top Northern Ireland stories are at the foot of the page.

Links to other Northern Ireland stories

^^ Back to top