BBC Sport motorsport


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 18:35 GMT, Sunday, 12 October 2008 19:35 UK

Loeb eases to victory in Corsica

Sebastien Loeb (right) and Daniel Elena
Loeb (right) and co-driver Daniel Elena celebrate their win in Corsica

Sebastien Loeb moved a step closer to a record fifth consecutive World Rally Championship crown with another dominant win in the Rally of Corsica.

The Citroen driver now leads nearest rival Mikko Hirvonen by 14 points with two rounds of the championship left.

Loeb eased home almost three-and-a-half minutes off Hirvonen in second place.

The Finn's team-mates, Francois Duval and Jari-Matti Latvala, were given team orders by Ford to incur penalties to ensure they fell to third and fourth.

"It's getting better and better," said Loeb.

"To win here in Corsica is a great moment. We were much faster all rally and that's great for me and the team. We'll add another two more points to our championship lead. So, OK, we'll see how we get on in Japan."

Hirvonen was second in the early stages on Sunday until a puncture forced him to change a tyre and drop back to fifth place.

When Petter Solberg also suffered a puncture on stage 14 Hirvonen moved up to fourth before his team-mates were issued with their team orders to drop back behind him and keep his slim title hopes alive.

"I can't celebrate it but I understand what the team is doing and I appreciate what Francois and Jari-Matti have done, but I really wish I didn't have that puncture," said Hirvonen.

Subaru duo Solberg and Chris Atkinson were fifth and sixth in their Imprezas, with Estonia's Urmo Aava seventh and Briton Matthew Wilson eighth in his Ford Focus.

Rally of Corsica result:

1 S Loeb (Fra) Citroen 3hrs 42mins 58.000secs
2 M Hirvonen (Fin) Ford 3:46:22.700
3 F Duval (Bel) Ford 3:46:29.600
4 J-M Latvala (Fin) Ford 3:46:35.500
5 P Solberg (Nor) Subaru 3:48:33.400
6 C Atkinson (Aus) Subaru 3:49:08.400
7 U Aava (Est) Mitsubishi 3:50:23.200
8 M Wilson (GB) Ford 3:52:00.200
9 M Ostberg (Nor) Subaru 3:52:11.300
10 B Clark (Irl) Citroen 3:56:36.300

Drivers' championship standings:

1 S Loeb (Fra) Citroen 106pts
2 M Hirvonen (Fin) Ford 92
3 D Sordo (Spa) Citroen 59
4 C Atkinson (Aus) Subaru 45
5 J-M Latvala (Fin) Ford 42
6 P Solberg (Nor) Subaru 40
7 H Solberg (Nor) Ford 22
7 F Duval (Bel) Ford 22
9 G Galli (Ita) Ford 17
10 M Wilson (GB) Ford 13

Manufacturers' championship standings:

1 Citroen 169pts
2 Ford 146
3 Subaru 87
4 Stobart 62
5 Munchis Ford 22
6 Suzuki 21

see also
Loeb stretches championship lead
05 Oct 08 |  Rallying
Loeb gifted New Zealand victory
31 Aug 08 |  Rallying
Loeb triumphs in Rally of Germany
17 Aug 08 |  Rallying

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.