BBC Sport motogp


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 13:14 GMT, Sunday, 3 April 2011 14:14 UK

World champion Jorge Lorenzo seals Spanish Moto GP win

Jorge Lorenzo

Lorenzo wins action-packed Spanish MotoGP

World champion Jorge Lorenzo defied a wet track to win an incident-packed Spanish Moto GP in Jerez.

Lorenzo was 19 seconds ahead of second-placed Dani Pedrosa, with Nicky Hayden third and Briton Cal Crutchlow eighth.

Pole winner Casey Stoner, who took the season-opener in Qatar, was in second when he crashed out after being clipped by Valentino Rossi, who finished fifth.

Nicolas Terol won the 125cc race, while Andrea Iannone claimed the Moto2, with Britain's Bradley Smith taking fourth.

There were spills aplenty on a showery day in southern Spain but the collision between Rossi and Stoner was the most significant, resulting in Lorenzo claiming the overall lead in the standings.

Dani Pedrosa, Jorge Lorenzo and Nicky Hayden

Rain made race difficult - Lorenzo

Rossi was making a determined charge in the difficult conditions, surging from 12th on the grid up to third.

But an ill-advised overtaking manoeuvre with 20 laps remaining put Stoner out of the race and the Australian told Rossi: "Your ambition outweighed your talent."

Stoner highlighted the role of the marshals, who helped Rossi remount his bike to join the action while Stoner was left to unsuccessfully attempt to restart his Honda on his own.

"With the accident, I heard Valentino arriving and I wasn't worried about anyone passing me at that point in the race so I gave him plenty of room," Stoner said.

"It was a racing incident and there's not much we can do. what is more frustrating is the reaction of the stewards and their assistance for Valentino and not for me, it was unbelievable."

Stoner later told that the issue needed to be addressed even if he saw no point in going to the authorities himself.

Cal Crutchlow with Matt Roberts and Steve Parrish

Crutchlow happy to finish 'crazy race'

"I'd like to see something done about it, not just for me but for other riders," he declared.

"I think it's completely unfair. There's not enough consistency in the marshalling all around the world. There's got to be consistency with everyone, not hampering someone's race just because of popularity."

"I don't go to the safety commission anymore," he added. "It's like knocking your head against a wall. Nothing happens."

The crash left Marco Simoncelli in a commanding lead and on course for a maiden MotoGP win but the Italian lost control on a bend, handing Lorenzo a lead he was not to relinquish.

With four laps to go, Ben Spies nipped ahead of Pedrosa into second only to spin off on a corner on the next lap as the hazardous track took its toll.

Lorenzo held on to take the chequered flag, the 22nd consecutive race in which he has finished in the top four.

"It was a hard race but I am happy with the win," the 23-year-old said. "We had some luck, without the fall of Stoner we would not have won."

Moto GP result:

1 J Lorenzo (Spn) Yamaha 50 minutes 49.046 seconds
2 D Pedrosa (Spn) Honda 51:08.385
3 N Hayden (USA) Ducati 51:18.131
4 H Aoyama (Jpn) Honda 51:18.597
5 V Rossi (Ita) Ducati 51:51.273
6 H Barbera (Spn) Ducati 51:57.486
7 K Abraham (Cze) Ducati 52:03.166
8 C Crutchlow (GB) Yamaha 52:08.156
9 T Elias (Spn) Honda 52:31.952
10 J Hopkins (US) Suzuki 52:37.441
11 L Capirossi (Ita) Ducati 52:40.922
12 A Dovizioso (Ita) Honda 1 Lap

Overall standings:

1 J Lorenzo 45 points
2 D Pedrosa 36
3 C Stoner 25
4 N Hayden 23
5 V Rossi 20
6 H Aoyama 19
7 A Dovizioso 17
8 H Barbera 14
9 C Crutchlow 13
10 K Abraham 12
11 M Simoncelli 11
12 B Spies 10
13 C Edwards 8
14 T Elias 7
15 J Hopkins 6

Moto 2 result:

1 A Iannone (It) Suter 49 minutes 56.423 seconds
2 T Luthi (Swi) Suter 50:04.273
3 S Corsi (It) Ioda 50:09.048


4 B Smith (GB) 50:11.778
8 K Coghlan (GB) 50:32.604
23 S Redding (GB) 51:12.572

Championship standings:

1 A Iannone (Ita) Suter 45pts
2 T Luthi (Swi) Suter
3 S Bradl (Ger) Kalex 36

6 B Smith (GB) 20

125cc result:

1 N Terol (Sp) Aprilia 44 minutes 50.646 seconds
2 J Folger (Ger) Derbi 45:08.092
3 J Zarco (Fr) Derbi 45:14.601
4 D Kent (GB) Derbi 45:23.529
5 T Mackenzie (GB) Aprilia 45:25.359

Championship standings:

1 N Terol (Sp) Aprilia 50pts
2 J Folger (Ger) Derbi 31
3 S Cortese (Ger) Aprilia 30


6 D Kent (GB) Aprilia 16
8 T Mackenzie (GB) Aprilia 11

Print Sponsor

see also
Stoner on pole for Spanish MotoGP
02 Apr 11 |  MotoGP
Stoner and Pedrosa set early pace
01 Apr 11 |  MotoGP
Steve Parrish's MotoGP column
30 Mar 11 |  MotoGP
Hopkins set for MotoGP comeback
28 Mar 11 |  MotoGP
Stoner takes opening win in Qatar
20 Mar 11 |  MotoGP
MotoGP on the BBC
15 Mar 11 |  MotoGP

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2018 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.