BBC Sport motogp


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 19:41 GMT, Saturday, 29 August 2009 20:41 UK

Pedrosa sets pace in Indianapolis

Indianapolis MotoGP
Date: 29-30 August
Saturday 29 August: Qualifying: 1750-2100, online. 125cc live on Freeview, d-sat and d-cable. 250cc and MotoGP qualifying online, repeated on Freeview channel 302 from 0100 BST Sunday. Sunday 30 August: 1650-1805: 125cc and 250cc on all platforms. Race live: 1945-2100, BBC Three/online, repeated on iplayer

Dani Pedrosa
Pedrosa has already won in the USA this season at Laguna Seca

Dani Pedrosa romped to pole position for Sunday's Indianapolis MotoGP ahead of Fiat Yamaha pair Jorge Lorenzo and Valentino Rossi.

The Spaniard set a lap time of one minute 39.730 seconds, half a second faster than Lorenzo, with a late surge on the last lap putting Rossi third.

James Toseland was among the early pace-setters but ended up tenth.

MotoGP debutant Aleix Espargaro was 16th, and Ducati stand-in Mika Kallio crashed out again before coming 15th.

Rossi edged out Alex de Angelis by just one hundredth of a second to get onto the front row of the grid, so the San Marino rider will start on row two alongside American duo Colin Edwards and Nicky Hayden.


Toni Elias will start in seventh spot despite a spill, and shares row three with Italian pair Andrea Dovizioso and Marco Melandri, ahead of Toseland.

In qualifying for the 125cc race, runaway championship leader Julian Simon set the fastest time, ahead of Sandro Cortese and Nicolas Terol, with Britain's Bradley Smith fifth fastest.

On pole for the first ever 250cc race at Indianapolis will be France's Mike di Meglio.

Championship leader Hiroshi Aoyama was second fastest, with reigning world champion Marco Simoncelli in third place.

Indianapolis MotoGP qualifying result:

1 D Pedrosa (Sp) Repsol Honda 1min 39.730 sec
2 J Lorenzo (Sp) Fiat Yamaha 1min 40.236 sec
3 V Rossi (It) Fiat Yamaha 1min 40.609 sec
4 A de Angelis (RSM) Gresini Honda Gresini 1min 40.620 sec
5 C Edwards (USA) Tech 3 Yamaha 1min 40.961 sec
6 N Hayden (USA) Ducati Marlboro Team 1min 41.067 sec
7 T Elias (Sp) Gresini Honda 1min 41.283 sec
8 A Dovizioso (Ita) Repsol Honda 1min 41.309 sec
9 M Melandri (Ita) Hayate Racing 1min 41.530 sec
10 J Toseland (GB) Tech 3 Yamaha 1min 41.620 sec
11 L Capirossi (Ita) Rizla Suzuki 1min 41.742 sec
12 R de Puniet (Fr) LCR Honda 1min 41.773 sec
13 N Canepa (Ita) Pramac Racing 1min 41.910 sec
14 C Vermeulen (Aus) Rizla Suzuki 1min 42.038 sec
15 M Kallio (Fin) Ducati 1min 42.250 sec
16 A Espargaro (Sp) Pramac Racing 1min 42.577 sec
17 G Talmacsi (Hng) Scot Racing 1min 42.736 sec

125cc qualifying result:

1 J Simon (Spain) Aprilia 1min 49.337secs
2 S Cortese (Germany) Derbi 1:49.387
3 N Terol (Spain) Aprilia 1:49.537
4 P Espargaro (Spain) Derbi 1:49.577
5 B Smith (GB) Aprilia 1:49.585

250cc qualifying result:

1 M Di Meglio (Fra) Aprilia 1min 44.341secs
2 H Aoyama (Jpn) Honda 1:44.461
3 M Simoncelli (Ita) Gilera 1:44.553
4 H Barbera (Spa) Aprilia 1:44.625
5 J Cluzel (Fra) Aprilia 1:44.860

Print Sponsor

see also
Capirossi extends Suzuki contract
28 Aug 09 |  MotoGP
Steve Parrish's MotoGP column
26 Aug 09 |  MotoGP
Lorenzo pens new deal with Yamaha
25 Aug 09 |  MotoGP
Lorenzo crash hands Rossi victory
16 Aug 09 |  MotoGP
MotoGP on the BBC
15 Mar 11 |  MotoGP
Suzuki keep Capirossi & Vermeulen
05 Sep 08 |  MotoGP

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.