BBC Sport motorsport


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 09:18 GMT, Saturday, 18 October 2008 10:18 UK

Pedrosa snatches pole from Rossi

Dani Pedrosa
Pedrosa is third in the championship standings

Dani Pedrosa left it late to grab pole from new world champion Valentino Rossi at the Malaysian Grand Prix.

The Repsol Honda rider clocked a time of two minutes 1.548 seconds in his final lap at the Sepang circuit to edge out the Italian by 0.409secs.

Rossi starts second on the grid with Fiat Yamaha team-mate Jorge Lorenzo third with a time of 2:02.171secs.

Last year's world champion Casey Stoner was seventh fastest, while Britain's James Toseland starts 12th on the grid.

With the circuit drying following a downpour during the 125cc session, the final five minutes were thrilling as the leadership changed hands on numerous occasions.

Stoner, Andrea Dovizioso and Rossi had all topped the timesheet before Pedrosa vaulted up to pole position.

Nicky Hayden was fourth fastest and will be joined on the second row by Colin Edwards, who took fifth, and Dovizioso, who had moved into provisional pole with two minutes of the session remaining, in sixth.

Stoner, Loris Capirossi, Randy de Puniet and John Hopkins completed the top 10.

"It is fantastic to be on pole here, especially since this is my first pole with Bridgestone tyres," said Pedrosa, who was still limping after injuring his knee in Australia.

"Track conditions were changing all the time this afternoon, so it was quite tricky.

"At the beginning it was wet, then little by little the track dried, so you had to be on the ball to understand when it was best to change tyres. I was able to get in a good lap time in my final run, and I'm very happy to get this pole position.

"Pole is particularly important here because the lap times are all very close, so a good start will be crucial."

Malaysian MotoGP qualifying result:

1 D Pedrosa (Spn) Honda 2:01.548
2 V Rossi (Ita) Yamaha 2:01.957
3 J Lorenzo (Spn) Yamaha 2:02.171
4 N Hayden (US) Honda 2:02.192
5 C Edwards (US) Yamaha 2:02.245
6 A Dovizioso (Ita) Honda 2:02.836
7 C Stoner (Aus) Ducati 2:02.953
8 L Capirossi (Ita) Suzuki 2:03.078
9 R de Puniet (Fr) Honda 2:03.110
10 J Hopkins (US) Kawasaki 2:03.184

250cc qualifying result:

1 M Simoncelli (Ita) Gilera 2mins 07.109secs
2 A Bautista (Spa) Aprilia 2:07.444
3 H Aoyama (Jpn) KTM 2:07.535

125cc qualifying result:

1 L Zanetti (Ita) KTM 2:28.760
2 P Espargaro (Spn) Derbi 2:30.385
3 S Gadea (Spn) Aprilia 2:30.386
4 D Webb (GB) Aprilia 2:30.611

see also
Bridgestone win MotoGP contract
18 Oct 08 |  Motorbikes
Steve Parrish's MotoGP column
16 Oct 08 |  Motorbikes
Stoner fixes wrist surgery date
16 Oct 08 |  Motorbikes
Superb Stoner wins in Australia
05 Oct 08 |  Motorbikes
Rossi celebrates 'toughest title'
28 Sep 08 |  Motorbikes
Rossi roars to sixth world title
28 Sep 08 |  Motorbikes

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.