BBC Sport motorsport


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 17:32 GMT, Sunday, 15 June 2008 18:32 UK

Haga seals double Nurburgring win

Noriyuki Haga
Haga won a thrilling battle with Troy Corser at the Nurburgring.

Noriyuki Haga moved up to fourth in the World Superbike championship after claiming a double victory at the Nurburgring in Germany.

Haga beat championship leader Troy Bayliss in the first race by 2.025 seconds, and he won the rain-curtailed second race on the countback rule.

Troy Corser led when the race stopped on lap 16 but the result was decided by placings in the final completed lap.

Haga's win was all the more impressive as he broke a collarbone two weeks ago.

His double win takes his championship points tally to 172, 55 behind leader Bayliss, who ended the weekend with a second and a fourth place finish after making mistakes in both legs.

Bayliss was leading the first race but he ran wide into turn one less than two laps from the end to hand victory to the Yamaha rider.

In race two Bayliss made two mistakes on the fifth lap, dropping from the lead down to fifth before recovering to fourth.

Suzuki rider Max Neukirchner, who impressed the home fans by taking superpole in qualifying on Saturday, continued to shine with a pair of third place finishes.

Race one results:

1 N Haga (Jpn) Yamaha 39mins 19.427secs
2 T Bayliss (Aus) Ducati 39:21.452
3 M Neukirchner (Ger) Suzuki 39:24.244
4 T Corser (Aus) Yamaha 39:29.702
5 C Checa (Spa) Honda 39:39.927
6 R Xaus (Spa) Ducati 39:50.353
7 M Fabrizio (Ita) Ducati 407.371
8 F Nieto (Spa) Suzuki 427.891
9 M Tamada (Jpn) Kawasaki 449.053
10 K Muggeridge (Aus) Honda 41:01.703

Race two results:

1 N Haga (Jpn) Yamaha 27mins 26.594secs
2 T Corser (Aus) Yamaha 27:26.744
3 M Neukirchner (Ger) Suzuki 27:31.910
4 T Bayliss (Aus) Ducati 27:34.245
5 C Checa (Spa) Honda 27:34.545
6 M Fabrizio (Ita) Ducati 27:35.624
7 M Biaggi (Ita) Ducati 27:36.014
8 R Xaus (Spa) Ducati 27:36.510
9 F Nieto (Spa) Suzuki 27:39.456
10 R Laconi (Fra) Kawasaki 27:40.153

Rider standings (after 7 of 14 rounds):

1 T Bayliss (Aus) Ducati, 227 points
2 C Checa (Spn) Honda 188
3 M Neukirchner (Ger) Suzuki 176
4 N Haga (Jpn) Yamaha 172
5 T Corser (Aus) Yamaha 154
6 F Nieto (Spn) Suzuki 141
7 R Xaus (Spn) Ducati 110
8 M Fabrizio (Ita) Ducati 106
9 M Biaggi (Ita) Ducati 97
10 R Kiyonari (Jpn) Honda 89

see also
Neukirchner claims German pole
14 Jun 08 |  Motorbikes
Double win stretches Bayliss lead
27 Apr 08 |  Motorbikes

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.