Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
watch listen BBC Sport BBC Sport
Low graphics|Help
Last Updated: Friday, 2 February 2007, 21:20 GMT
TT organisers boast quality entry
John McGuinness has won 11 races at the TT
John McGuinness achieved three wins at the 2006 TT festival
Organisers of the Isle of Man TT Races say they are expecting the best entry of riders since world championship days for this year's Centenary event.

"The evidence of the work that has been put in over recent years is there to be seen and the infrastructure of the races is stronger," said Paul Phillips.

"The standard of the entry has gone up dramatically in the last few years and we have more quality than quantity.

"The TT is a strong brand which is now starting to realise its potential."

"We had a couple of low years in 2003 and 2004 and David Jefferies' accident highlighted problems which have now been addressed.

"A lot of things needed to change and a lot has changed within a short space of time, including greater funding for marshalling and the medical side of things.

"We are on a real high at the moment with sponsorship packages which are worth selling to sponsors and a new licensing and brand identity which has yielded 20,000 to help with course safety.

"Any of ten riders could win each race at TT 2007 and that is a healthy situation," added Phillips.

All four major Japanese manufacturers will be represented at the event with the top names in road racing and several notable newcomers taking part.

BSB regular Michael Rutter returns to the event after a seven-year absence while last year's double North West 200 winner Steve Plater makes his debut on an AIM Yamaha.

Last year's treble hero and 11-times winner John McGuinness rides again for HM Plant Honda and Padgett's Honda and Ian Hutchinson is also Honda mounted.

Guy Martin, Cameron Donald, Ian Lougher and Martin Finnegan ride for various Honda teams while Rutter is the main man for Kawasaki who also have Raymond Porter in their ranks.

Suzuki will be represented by TAS pairing Bruce Anstey and Adrian Archibald.

There are six races scheduled on the programme, four solo races and two sidecar events with two special parade laps of honour.

Practising for the 2007 TT will start on Saturday 26 May, with the first race, the TT Superbike event, scheduled for Saturday 2 June.

McGuinness completes treble at TT
09 Jun 06 |  Motorbikes


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Daily and weekly e-mails | Mobiles | Desktop Tools | News Feeds | Interactive Television | Downloads
Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

Help | Privacy & Cookies Policy | News sources | About the BBC | Contact us