BBC Sport formula1


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 15:53 GMT, Wednesday, 21 October 2009 16:53 UK

Abu Dhabi replaces Brazil as Formula 1 finale in 2010

Sebastian Vettel wins the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix
Sebastian Vettel won the inaugural Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Abu Dhabi will host the 2010 Formula 1 season finale on 14 November as part of the finalised 19-race calendar.

Governing body, the FIA, backed a proposal to swap the dates between Abu Dhabi, which will again host a twilight race, and Brazil.

The calendar also pushed back the Japanese Grand Prix to 10 October.

South Korea is still set to make its F1 debut in 2010 on 24 October but its track is subject to approval while Canada returns after a year's absence.

The race in Montreal on 13 June guaranteed its place on the calendar after the Canadian government agreed to contribute towards an annual investment of £8.5m over the next five years.


Silverstone also secured an 11 July date for the British Grand Prix after recently signing a 17-year deal to stage the race.

The Monaco GP had already been moved forward one week from its originally scheduled date and is now back-to-back with the preceding race in Spain.

There will also be back-to-back races in Australia and Malaysia, Germany and Hungary and Brazil and Abu Dhabi.

Australia and Abu Dhabi will both start at 1700 local time while Malaysia will start at 1600. Singapore will again be a night race, starting at 2000 local time.

The full 2010 schedule is as follows:

March 14 - Bahrain (Sakhir)

March 28 - Australia (Melbourne)

April 4 - Malaysia (Sepang)

April 18 - China (Shanghai)

May 9 - Spain (Barcelona)

May 16 - Monaco (Monte Carlo)

May 30 - Turkey (Istanbul)

June 13 - Canada (Montreal)

June 27 - Europe (Valencia)

July 11 - Great Britain (Silverstone)

July 25 - Germany (Hockenheim)

August 1 - Hungary (Budapest)

August 29 - Belgium (Spa-Francorchamps)

September 12 - Italy (Monza)

September 26 - Singapore (Singapore)

October 10 - Japan (Suzuka)

October 24 - South Korea *

November 7 - Brazil (Interlagos)

November 14 - Abu Dhabi (Yas Marina)

* - subject to homologation of the circuit

Print Sponsor

see also
F1 drivers to help race stewards
11 Dec 09 |  Formula 1
Button backs new F1 points system
12 Dec 09 |  Formula 1
Silverstone deal saves British GP
07 Dec 09 |  Formula 1
South Korea to make 2010 F1 debut
21 Sep 09 |  Formula 1
Canadian GP back on F1 schedule
28 Nov 09 |  Formula 1
Bahrain set to start 2010 season
29 Aug 09 |  Formula 1

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.