BBC Sport formula1


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 14:58 GMT, Monday, 21 September 2009 15:58 UK

South Korea to make 2010 F1 debut

The new Yeongam circuit in South Korea
Work is under way at the new Yeongam circuit in South Korea

South Korea will host its first grand prix next year after being listed on a 19-race calendar published on Monday.

The event, which will be held in Yeongam in the south-west of the country, is scheduled for 17 October.

That makes it the third last race, with Abu Dhabi on 31 October and the climax in Brazil on 14 November.

The Canadian Grand Prix returns after a year's absence but is listed as provisional pending the completion of contract negotiations.

The British Grand Prix has an 11 July date. F1 boss Bernie Ecclestone has said that the British event will stay at Silverstone if Donington cannot fulfil its obligations.


Bahrain has replaced the Australian Grand Prix as the season opener because Ecclestone wants to run the Melbourne event, which is slated for 28 March, at a time as friendly to European television audiences as possible.

This year, the Australian race started at 1700 local time, which was 0700 BST. However, that would not be possible two weeks earlier as the clocks would still to have been changed from summer to winter time in Australia, and vice versa in Europe.

The Malaysian race, a week after Australia, starts at 1600 local time, an hour earlier than this year's truncated event to give more time to finish the event in the event of delays.

There are several other tweaks to the calendar from this year.

The Canadian Grand Prix
Canada's return would be popular with F1 teams and fans

The European Grand Prix at Valencia moves from this year's August date to 27 June in an attempt to avoid the high temperatures in Spain in late summer.

The German Grand Prix is listed as being at Hockenheim, but there remain doubts over its finances.

The full 2010 schedule is as follows:

March 14 - Bahrain (Sakhir)

March 28 - Australia (Melbourne)

April 4 - Malaysia (Sepang)

April 18 - China (Shanghai)

May 9 - Spain (Barcelona)

May 23 - Monaco (Monte Carlo)

May 30 - Turkey (Istanbul)

June 13 - Canada (Montreal)

June 27 - Europe (Valencia)

July 11 - Great Britain (Donington Park)

July 25 - Germany (Hockenheim)

August 1 - Hungary (Budapest)

August 29 - Belgium (Spa-Francorchamps)

September 12 - Italy (Monza)

September 26 - Singapore (Singapore)

October 3 - Japan (Suzuka)

October 17 - South Korea (Yeongam)

October 31 - Abu Dhabi (Yas Marina)

November 14 - Brazil (Interlagos)

Print Sponsor

see also
Canadian GP back for 2010 season
14 Sep 09 |  Formula 1
F1 year to have day-night climax
28 Aug 09 |  Formula 1
Donington given British GP boost
26 Jun 09 |  Formula 1
Canada dropped from F1 calendar
08 Oct 08 |  Formula 1

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites