BBC Sport formula1


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 17:47 GMT, Wednesday, 4 February 2009

McLaren's F1 history

Bruce McLaren pictured in 1965

McLaren's rich racing history begins in 1963 when New Zealander Bruce McLaren decides to form his eponymous racing team

Denny Hulme driving for McLaren at the 1968 British Grand Prix

The team enter Formula One in 1966 and 24 races later Bruce McLaren takes the team's first win at the 1968 Belgian Grand Prix in the M7A (driven here by team-mate Denny Hulme)

Bruce McLaren pictured in 1970 with his F1 car at Brands Hatch

Tragedy strikes in 1970 when, aged just 32, founder Bruce McLaren is killed at Goodwood when his Can-Am car crashes during testing. In 1972 the team ends its successful Can-Am venture to focus on F1

Emerson Fittipaldi in 1974

Brazil's 1972 world champion Emerson Fittipaldi arrives at McLaren in 1974 and, driving the M23, wins a tight contest with Ferrari to capture the team's first drivers' and constructors' crowns

James Hunt (left) and in action during the season-ending Japanese Grand Prix in 1976

The charismatic James Hunt chases down Ferrari's Niki Lauda - who is badly burned at the German GP - to clinch the 1976 title for McLaren by a single point at the rain-hit season-ending Japanese Grand Prix

(Left to right) Alain Prost, Ron Dennis and Niki Lauda celebrate a one-two at the Portuguese Grand Prix

Another golden era dawns for McLaren in 1984, as Alain Prost (l) and Lauda (r) team up under the leadership of Ron Dennis (centre)

Niki Lauda in action for McLaren in 1984

The McLarens, powered by Porsche turbo engines, dominate and Lauda pips team-mate Prost to the world title by half a point

Alain Prost celebrates winning the world title in 1985

Prost finally gets his hands on the world drivers' trophy in 1985 and the great Frenchman makes it two in 1986 as he nicks the championship from underneath the noses of the Williams' drivers

Ayrton Senna (left) with McLaren team-mate Alain Prost

McLaren win a record 15 out of 16 Grands Prix in 1988 but new recruit Ayrton Senna takes eight of them to beat Prost to the title

Alain Prost walks away after crashing with Ayrton Senna at the 1989 Japanese Grand Prix

Now bitter rivals, Prost and Senna clash at the penultimate round in Japan in 1989. It is enough to hand the championship to the Frenchman - but not enough to stop him quitting McLaren for Ferrari

Aryton Senna on his way to victory in the 1989 Monaco GP and celebrating another win in 1990

The McLaren-Senna partnership notches up consecutive drivers' crowns for the Brazilian in 1990 and 1991 and a fourth straight constructors' trophy for the Woking-based team

Ayrton Senna in action in the 1993 European GP and (right) celebrating his win

Senna's victory in the wet at the 1993 European GP at Donington goes down in history but by the end of the year he quits McLaren, who lag behind Williams, to make his ill-fated move to Williams

Nigel Mansell in the McLaren in 1995

Senna is replaced by Martin Brundle for 1994 before Nigel Mansell joins the team for 1995, but it is an ill-fated liaison. Mansell does not fit in the car initially and he quits after two uncompetitive races

Mika Hakkinen wins the 1998 Japanese Grand Prix and with it the title

After some lean years, Finn Mika Hakkinen, Mercedes' engine and Adrian Newey's design nous lift McLaren back to the top as they deny Ferrari and Michael Schumacher to take both titles in 1998

Mika Hakkinen celebrates in 1999

Hakkinen adds another drivers' crown in 1999 but he and team-mate David Coulthard cannot stop Ferrari in the constructors' race

Kimi Raikkonen sits in the 2002 McLaren

It's one Finn in, one Finn out in 2002 as Hakkinen takes a sabbatical - eventually retiring - and Kimi Raikkonen arrives from Sauber

Kimi Raikkonen wins the 2003 Malaysian Grand Prix

The following season Raikkonen wins his first GP in Malaysia and emerges as a title contender, challenging Schumacher right down to the very last race at Suzuka, only to lose out by two points

Kimi Raikkonen leads McLaren team-mate Juan Pablo Montoya at the 2005 Chinese Grand Prix

McLaren had the pace but reliability dogged Raikkonen and new team-mate Juan Pablo Montoya's titles chances in 2005 - though Raikkonen scored enough points to finish as runner-up

Lewis Hamilton (left) and Fernando Alonso are unveiled as McLaren's 2007 drivers

It is all change at McLaren in 2007 as the team sign double world champion Fernando Alonso (right) from Renault but spring a surprise by promoting GP2 champion Lewis Hamilton to be his team-mate

Lewis Hamilton and Fernando Alonso have mixed feelings at the 2007 Hungarian Grand Prix

By Hungary, a race Hamilton wins, a rift between the pair widens and, with McLaren embroiled in the Ferrari "spy row", Alonso's relationship with the team turns sour

Ron Dennis attends the FIA hearing in Paris in 2007

McLaren boss Ron Dennis takes the rap as the sport's governing body finds the team guilty of illegally possessing Ferrari technical data, strips it of its constructor points and fines it $100m (49.2m)

Lewis Hamilton during and after the 2007 Brazilian Grand Prix

Hamilton's amazing rookie season sees him take a four-point lead over Alonso into the final race in Brazil - but both end up losing the championship to Ferrari's Raikkonen by a single point

Lewis Hamilton on his way to victory in the 2008 British Grand Prix

With Alonso back at Renault and Heikki Kovalainen as his new team-mate, Hamilton reignites McLaren's title challenge in 2008, taking five victories - including a memorable wet-weather triumph at Silverstone

Lewis Hamilton clinches the 2008 world championship at the final race in Brazil

Hamilton and Ferrari rival Felipe Massa take the title to the wire in the final race in Brazil. A thrilling climax sees Hamilton move into the points place he needs on the last corner to clinch the 2008 crown

Lewis Hamilton collects the FIA driver's trophy at a gala in December 2008

Hamilton is the seventh McLaren driver to get his hands on the world championship trophy and, at 23 years and 300 days, the Englishman also becomes the youngest champion in the sport's history

Print Sponsor

see also
02 Nov 09 |  Drivers & Teams

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.