BBC Sport formula1


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 10:52 GMT, Wednesday, 4 March 2009

Renault's F1 history

Louis Renault in his workshop in Billancourt

French pioneer Louis Renault built the very first 'Renault' in his parents' workshop in Billancourt - pictured here - in 1898.

Jean-Pierre Jabouille in the first Renault turbo car in 1977

Renault make their first foray into Formula One 79 years later in 1977, pioneering the turbo-charged engine that would come to dominate the 1980s - but initially the car was so unreliable it was christened "the yellow teapot" by rivals

Jean-Pierre Jabouille celebrates Renault's first F1 win, flanked by Ferrari's Gilles Villeneuve (right) and Renault's Rene Arnoux, who staged a fmous battle for second place

But Renault soon wipe the smiles off the other teams' faces, as Jabouille records the first turbo F1 win at the French Grand Prix at Dijon in 1979

Alain Prost

Alain Prost joins Renault in 1981 and comes close to winning the 1983 world title only to lose out to Nelson Piquet's Brabham in the final race. Prost quits Renault for McLaren at the end of the season.

Derek Warwick in action during the 1984 Monaco Grand Prix

With rival engines catching up with Renault's turbo power, the French team struggles to stay competitive over the next two seasons and at the end of 1985 Renault withdraws its race team

Ayrton Senna in action for Lotus during the 1986 Belgian Grand Prix

Renault continues to supply its turbo engines to Lotus, who have F1 great Ayrton Senna at the wheel, but Renault terminate that deal at the end of the 1986 season and say au revoir to F1

The pit crew get to work on Nigel Mansell's Williams-Renault in 1992

Though turbo engines are now banned, Renault return in 1989 to supply Williams and a spell of dominance sees them win the 1992 and 1993 driver titles and constructor crowns in 1992, 1993 and 1994

Michael Schumacher on his way to victory at the 1995 Japanese Grand Prix

Renault power Benetton in 1995 and give Michael Schumacher a second world title and the team its only constructors' title

Jacques Villeneuve leads Williams team-mate Heinz-Harald Frentzen at the 1997 Spanish Grand Prix

After winning two more drivers' and constructors' crowns with Williams, Renault bow out of supplying engines to works teams in 1997 having added six constructors and five drivers' titles in a glorious period

Benetton driver Giancarlo Fisichell and team boss Flavio Briatore

Renault return once more to F1, buying Benetton Formula Limited for $120m in 2000 with Flavio Briatore (pictured) returning as team principal, but continue to race as Benetton for now

Jarno Trulli drives to fourth place in the 2002 Italian Grand Prix

A 100% Renault car, designed by Mike Gascoyne, is unveiled in 2002 and achieves its best result at Monza where Jarno Trulli finishes fourth with team-mate Jenson Button sixth

Fernando Alonso and Renault team boss Flavio Briatore at the Malaysian Grand Prix in 2003

Briatore signs up Spanish driver Fernando Alonso for the 2003 season saying, "he will be Renault's future"

Fernando Alonso leads the pack at the 2005 Bahrain Grand Prix

Alonso scores a hat-trick of wins to lead the 2005 drivers' championship. His victory in Bahrain was also Renault's 100th GP win

Fernando Alonso celebrates winning the 2005 title

Third place in Brazil is enough for Alonso to become champion and, at that time, the youngest in history aged 24 years and 58 days

Fernando Alonso and Flavio Briatore celebrate winning the constructors' title in 2005

After battling with the speedy McLarens all season, Renault seal a historic double at the final Grand Prix of the season in China, beating McLaren to the constructors' crown by nine points as Alonso wins

Fernando Alonso wins the 2006 British Grand Prix

Renault dominate in early 2006 claiming seven victories in the opening nine Grands Prix including Renault's 200th race at Silverstone

The front of Fernando Alonso's car prior to the 2006 Turkish Grand Prix

But in July the FIA ban the use of mass dampers - the system designed by Renault to absorb vibrations and help road-holding - and without the device the team struggle for pace

Fernando Alonso and Michael Schumacher

Ferrari's seven-time champion Michael Schumacher, who would retire at the end of the season, took advantage and with just two races left to run he and title rival Alonso were level on points

Michael Schumacher and Fernando Alonso at the 2006 Japanese Grand Prix

But Schumacher's engine blows in the next race in Japan and Alonso takes the win to get one hand on a second world title

The Renault team celebrate taking both titles in 2006

Second place in Brazil is enough for Alonso to be crowned champion while Renault defend their constructors' title by five points

Heikki Kovalainen

With star driver Alonso now at McLaren and regulation Bridgestone tyres replacing Michelins, Renault struggle in 2007. Rookie Heikki Kovalainen's second at a wet Suzuka is the team's best result

Robert Kubica (left) soaks Fernando Alonso who is watched by Kimi Raikkonen (right)

Alonso returns to Renault in 2008 and restores the team to winning ways with back-to-back victories in Japan and Singapore

Print Sponsor

see also
02 Nov 09 |  Drivers & Teams

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2020 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.